Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Rhaegal's limit 1/phase if he comes back from the dead

- - - - -

Best Answer Staton , 19 August 2015 - 09:29 PM

Yes, this works. Once a card leaves play, and then enters back into play, it is treated as a new card. So any icons lost or str lost or previously activated abilities are not "remembered" by the game state. 

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1
michaelius

michaelius

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts

Let's say we have on the table

 

Daenerys Targaryen - only relevant here for trait Stormborn

 

Rhaegal:

 

Reaction: After you win a challenge in which a single Stormborn character you control is participating, choose and stand a Stormborn character. (Limit once per phase.)

 

 

Now we attack with Danny she wins and uses reaction from Rhaegal.

 

After that Rhaegal dies and goes to dead pile from enemy claim

 

 

Now opponent attacks with Intrigue

 

I play

 

Fire and Blood

 

 

Challenges Action: Choose a unique [Targaryen] character in your dead pile, and shuffle it back into your deck. If that character is a Hatchling, you may put it into play instead.

 

 

And put Rhaegal back into play.  If I defend with Danny and win can Rhaegal reaction be used again  (since limit is part of his ability was it cleared after it went to dead pile ? ) or limits are global and counted per player no matter what happens to the card that had that limited ability ?



#2
Staton

Staton

    Advanced Member

  • Small Council
  • 1207 posts
✓  Best Answer

Yes, this works. Once a card leaves play, and then enters back into play, it is treated as a new card. So any icons lost or str lost or previously activated abilities are not "remembered" by the game state. 


  • kizerman86 likes this

#3
istaril

istaril

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1741 posts

This is the reason the game distinguishes between "limit x per y" constructions (like Rhaegal), which only apply to that specific card in play, and "max X per y" (like on Put to the Torch) which tracks all instances of that card/ability.



#4
ktom

ktom

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1463 posts

Limits and Maxima (RRG, p.12):

“Limit X per [period]” is a limit that appears on cards that remain in play through the resolution of an ability’s effect. Each copy of an ability with such a limit may be used X times during the designated period. If a card leaves play and re-enters play during the same period, the card is considered to be bringing a new copy of the ability to the game.

 

 

(I'm going to totally be "that guy" for a minute here and point out the RRG is set up in glossary format for a reason.)


  • Staton and emptyrepublic like this