Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Bodyguard

- - - - -

Best Answer Masterdinadan , 02 September 2015 - 02:18 PM

Since the Interrupt on Bodyguard is not a Forced Interrupt, the controller decides whether or not it get activated.
Since Bodyguard is not Terminal, it returns to its owner's hand if the attached character leaves play for any reason.

Edit - reaction changed to interrupt Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1
huhu

huhu

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 41 posts

Can I let the charakter with the attachement "bodyguard" die und got the att. back to my hand? or must I save him from being dead?



#2
Masterdinadan

Masterdinadan

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 268 posts
✓  Best Answer
Since the Interrupt on Bodyguard is not a Forced Interrupt, the controller decides whether or not it get activated.
Since Bodyguard is not Terminal, it returns to its owner's hand if the attached character leaves play for any reason.

Edit - reaction changed to interrupt

#3
ktom

ktom

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1463 posts

Just to be a nitpicky pain in the rear, Bodyguard's ability is an Interrupt, not a Reaction. (It's a save; it pretty much has to be an interrupt.)

 

That doesn't change Masterdinadan's correct answer, though. Triggered abilities are always optional, so you are not required to save the attached character with Bodyguard. If you do not, you would follow all the usual rules for non-terminal attachments when the card they are attached to leaves play (i.e., return it to you hand).

 

It is kind of an odd play, though - marshaling a "save" attachment like Bodyguard to a Lord/Lady and then choosing not to use it. I suppose there are circumstances when it is the right play, though.



#4
Grimwalker

Grimwalker

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 582 posts

Happened to me just last night. Asha Greyjoy got hit with Milk of the Poppy and I was promptly able to marshal Aeron Damphair. Sure, I'd love to kill her off, get her attachments back, and then pop her right back into play ready to be geared up next Marshaling.



#5
ingsve

ingsve

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 378 posts

Wanting to play Bodyguard on setup to refill with more cards and Shireen is your only target would be one situation.


  • Grimwalker and huhu like this