Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Repeater bolt thrower & outpost of tiranoc - broken ?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1
wout

wout

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
I've got a question.

So the card 'repeater bolt thrower' (high elves) says: spend X resourc tokens to deal X indirect damage to target opponent. X is the number of developements in this zone, and it should be put into your battlefield to use this ability. (No restriction on how many times to use this)

While 'outpost of tiranoc' says: whenever you deal indirect damage, deal one additional point of indirect damage.

Now that means that I could activate RBT 400 times in a battlefield that is completely developement - free, with each time doing 1 (0 + 1 from OoT) indirect damage. This would obliterate my opponent with a ridiculous 400 indirect damage caused by a two card combo!?? (If the rules of these cards have been changed, please let me know)

#2
MightyToenail

MightyToenail

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1164 posts
I am new to this, so maybe emailing FFG would be good, or looking for errata in the FAQ on the FFG invasion page.

No, that would not work. At least in Conquest, in order to spend x of something, something must be spent. So since you didn't spend any resources, you can't trigger the combo. That applies to all x costs.

For example, in Conquest, the card Clogged With Corpses is 0-cost event that reads: "sacrifice x termagant tokens you control to destroy a support with cost x or less." To destroy a 0-cost support, you could not sacrifice zero termagants to do it, since none were sacrificed. The same goes for this card.

#3
Skelton

Skelton

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 2080 posts

This is correct. You wouldn't actually 'Deal' any Indirect Damage in the first place so the Outpost of Tiranoc wouldn't work.



#4
HappyDD

HappyDD

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 236 posts

They FAQed that card to "once per turn". Monorail.



#5
wout

wout

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Ok thnx for the replies!

#6
shirleywaldron

shirleywaldron

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Hi..Can I get an advice?



#7
MightyToenail

MightyToenail

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1164 posts

Hi..Can I get an advice?

Sure!