Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Lando Calrissian + Shifty Lookout


Best Answer Mike1977 , 25 January 2016 - 05:28 AM

So this works because the LS player is able to complete everything having/choosing/revealing/discarding a card, while the DS player only needs to meet the very first requirement?

 

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

 

IE Lando: Action: If you and your opponent each have 1 or more cards in hand, each chooses 1 card from hand. Reveal those cards simultaneously. The player that revealed more printed Force icons may remove a focus token from a card he controls. Discard both revealed cards. (Limit once per turn.)

 

Shifty Lookout: While this unit is ready, each opponent is considered to have 1 additional card in his hand.

 

 

Scenario: the DS player has zero cards in hand, but the LS has one or more cards in hand and a ready Shifty Lookout in play. Could Lando initiate his action and if so what would happen? Or does his action not work because you can't resolute the entire effect? 

 

A:

 

In the scenario you describe (DS player with no actual cards in hand, but LS player has a Shifty Lookout on the table), Lando can trigger his action.

Each player goes to choose a card from his hand. The LS player is able to (and must) choose a card. The DS player is unable to choose an actual card, so he does not. The LS player reveals his card and, as long as the card he reveals has 1 or more printed Force icons, he would remove a focus token from a unit he controls, as per Lando’s action.

--
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer
Fantasy Flight Games

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1
Mike1977

Mike1977

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 843 posts

ffg_SWC23_171-2.pngffg_shifty-lookout-lure-of-the-dark-side

 

I'm being told this works even if opponent has no cards in hand.

 

I can't find any such thread, so plz confirm.



#2
theChony

theChony

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 307 posts

Confirmation: http://www.cardgamed...-10#entry205258



#3
Mike1977

Mike1977

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 843 posts
✓  Best Answer

So this works because the LS player is able to complete everything having/choosing/revealing/discarding a card, while the DS player only needs to meet the very first requirement?

 

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

 

IE Lando: Action: If you and your opponent each have 1 or more cards in hand, each chooses 1 card from hand. Reveal those cards simultaneously. The player that revealed more printed Force icons may remove a focus token from a card he controls. Discard both revealed cards. (Limit once per turn.)

 

Shifty Lookout: While this unit is ready, each opponent is considered to have 1 additional card in his hand.

 

 

Scenario: the DS player has zero cards in hand, but the LS has one or more cards in hand and a ready Shifty Lookout in play. Could Lando initiate his action and if so what would happen? Or does his action not work because you can't resolute the entire effect? 

 

A:

 

In the scenario you describe (DS player with no actual cards in hand, but LS player has a Shifty Lookout on the table), Lando can trigger his action.

Each player goes to choose a card from his hand. The LS player is able to (and must) choose a card. The DS player is unable to choose an actual card, so he does not. The LS player reveals his card and, as long as the card he reveals has 1 or more printed Force icons, he would remove a focus token from a unit he controls, as per Lando’s action.

--
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer
Fantasy Flight Games



#4
jakube

jakube

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts

It would be way way easier and more intuitive if they just add simple phrase there "if able" (DS reavel if able), like in good old days when you didn't needed so much official clarifications.



#5
PBrennan

PBrennan

    Conquest Rules Arbitrator

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 874 posts

In effect, every aspect of every effect as a virtual "if able" on it. As in, the rules stipulate that once you've initiated an ability (ie it must be able to generate some sort of change in game state), then you must resolve all of the effect if you can, and if you can't, you must resolve as much of it as you can - ie if able. Given every aspect of an effect has a virtual "if able" on it, usually now they only go on "must" effects for clarity's sake.



#6
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3914 posts

In effect, every aspect of every effect as a virtual "if able" on it. As in, the rules stipulate that once you've initiated an ability (ie it must be able to generate some sort of change in game state), then you must resolve all of the effect if you can, and if you can't, you must resolve as much of it as you can - ie if able. Given every aspect of an effect has a virtual "if able" on it, usually now they only go on "must" effects for clarity's sake.


Pretty much this. Including not technically necessary "if able"s on cards to make that particular effect slightly easier to understand in one rare corner case has the side effect of making other cards that didn't include the extraneous "if able" more confusing because now we have to answer why some cards say "if able" and other cards don't.

#7
Mike1977

Mike1977

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 843 posts

not confused at all... :P



#8
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3914 posts
Basically, it works because the conditional requirement is met (the dark side player is considered to have a card in hand) and at least part of the effect can resolve (thus satisfying the check from section 3.6 of the FAQ). At that point, the game resolves the effect to the best of its ability.