1. Stolen Plans: After enhanced objective generates 1 or more resources, draw 1 card. So if you make the first "1" a "0" then you just get to draw a card whenever you want after you use Brainiac on it?
The trigger for Stolen Plans involves the generation of resources. You cannot “generate 0 resources” and have that be a successful resolution of “generating resources.” In order to successfully generate resources from something, you must actually generate some non-zero amount of resources. So, this use of Brainiac won’t produce the effect of just being able to draw a card unless the enhanced objective actually generates 1 or more resources.
2. Echo caverns: Action: focus this enhancement to choose 2 targets that share a Trait. Until the end of the phase, one of those units loses a combat icon of your choice, and the other gains that combat icon. Does this work at all if you make the "2" a 1?
In order for something to be “shared,” it is required that there be more than a single entity with the thing to be “shared.” A card does not “share” a Trait that it has with itself, it *has* that Trait. This is similar to the definition of “switch” which requires that there be something on both ends of the switch in order for that to take place.
3. Clearing House: After the opponent resolves a card effect that draws 1 or more cards, remove 1 focus token from this enhancement. So if you make the "1 or more" a "0", does that mean every time your opponent initiates any card effect during that phase you get to remove 1 focus token?
This situation is the same as Question 1. Clearing House requires that an effect actually draw a non-zero cards in order for the triggering condition to be met.
Another way of phrasing it: something that does not actually change the game state (i.e. “generating 0 resources” or “draw 0 cards”, etc) does not generate a triggering condition for other effects to trigger off of.
4. This last one encompasses a whole host of cards so i'm not going to put all the texts down, just list the cards since its all the same issue. Fleet command center, hoth scout, yoda's protection, security control center, Chewbacca (IE version). So all of these add 1 shield or such to a unit. If you bump thenumber to add multiple shields to a single unit, does that become a legal play, like using our most desperate hour, or kashyyk resistance hiedout, since a card is breaking the rules, or is that still going to be considered illegal to have multiple shields on 1 card.
This is a case of the golden rule coming into play (and follows the precedent that the Kashyyyk Resistance Hideout establishes), with a few caveats and things to be aware of.
The basic rule (established in the Rulebook, page 23) is: “A shield token may not be assigned to a card that already has a shield token.” This rule does not use the phrase “cannot,” therefore, it *can* be overridden by card text as per the Golden Rule (page 11) when there is a direct contradiction. If a card effect is attempting to place 2 shield tokens at once, that is in direct contradiction to the rule, so the card text takes precedence.
As a caveat to the above, if that card effect does not let you put a shield token (or 2) on a unit that is already shielded, you would *not* be able to use it if the target is already shielded. In that case, even if you didn’t use Brainiac on the effect, you would not be able to use effect to place a single shield on the already shielded unit. For example, the Kashyyyk Resistance Hideout does let you place shield tokens on an already shielded unit, but Imperial Entanglements Chewbacca does not.
Fantasy Flight Games