Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Jory Cassel

- - - - -

Best Answer istaril , 10 March 2016 - 12:58 PM

First, when discussing a card (any card, really - but especially spoilers), please post the relevant card text. He reads

"Interrupt: When a unique Stark character you control would be killed, sacrifice Jory Cassel to save it. Then, if there is..."

 

 

So yes; if he would be killed, then you can attempt to initiate his ability even though you know it won't ever resolve succesfully, because he'll be sacrificed before he can be saved by his effect. The reason for this is the following text on p2 of the RR (emphasis mine):
 

xxA card ability can only be initiated if its effect
has the potential to change the game state. This
potential is assessed without taking into account
the consequences of the cost payment or any other
ability interactions.
Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1
clarky101

clarky101

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 34 posts

heya, just saw the spoiler for Jory, my instant thought was ''this character is unkillable'' (baring cancels) since i believe he could save himself from being killed by sacrificing himself. granted this doesn't make a huge difference to the game as your not going to be running x3 of him. 

 

but is this the case?

 



#2
istaril

istaril

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1741 posts
✓  Best Answer

First, when discussing a card (any card, really - but especially spoilers), please post the relevant card text. He reads

"Interrupt: When a unique Stark character you control would be killed, sacrifice Jory Cassel to save it. Then, if there is..."

 

 

So yes; if he would be killed, then you can attempt to initiate his ability even though you know it won't ever resolve succesfully, because he'll be sacrificed before he can be saved by his effect. The reason for this is the following text on p2 of the RR (emphasis mine):
 

xxA card ability can only be initiated if its effect
has the potential to change the game state. This
potential is assessed without taking into account
the consequences of the cost payment or any other
ability interactions.


#3
ktom

ktom

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1463 posts

It's worth pointing out, though, that the save will be unsuccessful, so you will not be allowed to resolve the "Then, if there is..." part of his ability.

 

The benefit of Jory "saving" himself is to keep him out of the dead pile so that you could run 3x of him without worrying about extra copies being dead in your hand because one is already in the dead pile.


  • theamazingmrg likes this

#4
Bomb

Bomb

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2588 posts

It's also worth pointing out that if Jory is killed by terminal burn, you still cannot even try to save him with his own effect because, like Istaril quoted above, you are not allowed to take into account the consequences of the cost even though the cost itself takes him out of the terminal state.


  • ktom likes this

#5
Grohmann

Grohmann

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

It's also worth pointing out that if Jory is killed by terminal burn, you still cannot even try to save him with his own effect because, like Istaril quoted above, you are not allowed to take into account the consequences of the cost even though the cost itself takes him out of the terminal state.

 

Why I cannot try save ?

We have here potential for saving (for while, but it is), so in my opinion player should have ability to pay the cost.

I take this interpreation on analogy from "Risen of Sea" card:

When a [Greyjoy] character would be killed, save it. Then, attach Risen from the Sea to that character as a Condition attachment with the text: “Terminal. Attached character gets +1 STR.

Here we CAN play "RIsen" because we are saved character for a while, and give him instant +1 buff to avoid instant continuing passive kill.



#6
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1442 posts

Why I cannot try save ?

We have here potential for saving (for while, but it is), so in my opinion player should have ability to pay the cost.

I take this interpreation on analogy from "Risen of Sea" card:

When a [Greyjoy] character would be killed, save it. Then, attach Risen from the Sea to that character as a Condition attachment with the text: “Terminal. Attached character gets +1 STR.

Here we CAN play "RIsen" because we are saved character for a while, and give him instant +1 buff to avoid instant continuing passive kill.

 

There's a special rule in the rulebook that prevents you from attempting to initiate a save effect if that save effect is not going to keep the character alive.

 

In this thread the lead designer of AGOT explains why Jory Cassel cannot attempt to save himself from Dracarys.



#7
Grohmann

Grohmann

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Thank You very much, now is clear for me :)