Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Hostile Acquisition vs Attachments (e.g. Drone Defense System)

Hostile Acquisition Gorzod Attachment Drone Defense System

Best Answer Eiji , 09 April 2016 - 07:18 PM

Owner still controls the attachment. So Gorzod cannot use the DDS ability.

 

To use the ability of DDS, the unit it is attached to has to be exhausted as a cost. Eldorath can can no longer pay that cost because he does not control that unit.

 

RRG p5 - Costs: Paying

"... An opponent's game elements may not be used to pay a cost."

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1
Kaloo

Kaloo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 941 posts

Hostile Acquisition

Reaction: After your warlord damages a Vehicle army unit by an attack, gain control of that unit. 

 

Drone Defense System

Attach to a Pilot or Vehicle unit.
Combat Action: Exhaust attached unit to deal 2 damage to each exhausted enemy unit at this planet. 

 

If this is used against a vehicle that has attachments attached to it, which player would control the attachments? My presumption would be the original player since Hostile Acquisition makes reference to the unit itself, as opposed to anything related to it.

E.g. Gorzod is playing against Eldorath. Gorzod attacks a readied Soaring Falcon (vehicle) with a copy of Drone Defense System attached to it. Eldorath decides not to shield, allowing Gorzod to play Hostile Acquisition to take control of the Soaring Falcon. Can Eldorath now, as an action, exhaust the Soaring Falcon to deal 2 damage to each exhausted unit on Gorzod's side of the table even though Gorzod now controls the unit? If so, would it also hit the Soaring Falcon given that it would be exhausted at the time of initiation?

Thanks



#2
Eiji

Eiji

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts
✓  Best Answer

Owner still controls the attachment. So Gorzod cannot use the DDS ability.

 

To use the ability of DDS, the unit it is attached to has to be exhausted as a cost. Eldorath can can no longer pay that cost because he does not control that unit.

 

RRG p5 - Costs: Paying

"... An opponent's game elements may not be used to pay a cost."


  • Kaloo and FightingWalloon like this





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Hostile Acquisition, Gorzod, Attachment, Drone Defense System