Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Endor Entrapment vs. Deploy the Fleet


Best Answer dbmeboy , 13 April 2016 - 08:14 PM

You do not get the discount in that situation.

 

If you prevent a cost, you don't successfully pay it and the effect does not happen.  If you do something instead of  the cost, the cost is still considered to be paid and the effect still happens (this is the case for Jabba + Spice Visions or Moisture Farmer protecting the cost from Questionable Contacts).

 

You could use this as a way to discard extra cards though.  In the Refresh phase trigger Deploy the Fleet and then prevent the damage with EE to discard an extra card that turn.

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1
DJstormtrooper

DJstormtrooper

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

So the craziness of the other EE rulings has me questioning my sanity and asking this question:

 

Can I damage my Deploy the Fleet to get a ship discount and then discard a card from hand with Endor Entrapment to prevent the damage?



#2
Utinni

Utinni

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 516 posts

Here are my thoughts ...

 

No. This different than Trust Me and the System Patrol Crafts. Trust me says "... deal 2 damage to this objective" which means that the 2 damage does not need to end up on Trust Me so it can be protected  by a Patrol Craft and still cancel the event. Endor Entrapment says "When ... is dealt damage", which means that the damage would have to successfully make it onto Deploy the Fleet.

 

Assuming this is true and Erik decides to errata Endor Entrapment to be like Survivors, ala " When damage would be dealt to a Navy Objective or Vehicle ..." would this ruling be reversed?

 

Also, Deploy the Fleet does not say "Deal 1 damage", but just "Damage", does that make a difference? Or would this difference just be chalked up to the wording being from a different time in the game and if it were written now it would say "Deal 1 damage"?



#3
Letux

Letux

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1596 posts
I would think that the cost is being prevented so it wouldn't work but I could be wrong.

#4
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3923 posts
✓  Best Answer

You do not get the discount in that situation.

 

If you prevent a cost, you don't successfully pay it and the effect does not happen.  If you do something instead of  the cost, the cost is still considered to be paid and the effect still happens (this is the case for Jabba + Spice Visions or Moisture Farmer protecting the cost from Questionable Contacts).

 

You could use this as a way to discard extra cards though.  In the Refresh phase trigger Deploy the Fleet and then prevent the damage with EE to discard an extra card that turn.



#5
HistoryGuy

HistoryGuy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 369 posts

You do not get the discount in that situation.

If you prevent a cost, you don't successfully pay it and the effect does not happen. If you do something instead of the cost, the cost is still considered to be paid and the effect still happens (this is the case for Jabba + Spice Visions or Moisture Farmer protecting the cost from Questionable Contacts).

You could use this as a way to discard extra cards though. In the Refresh phase trigger Deploy the Fleet and then prevent the damage with EE to discard an extra card that turn.


I'm sorry, but I'm still confused. Can you give a specific example of both parts of your answer? That may help me understand.

#6
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3923 posts

Preventing a cost keeps you from paying the cost.  For instance, if you use Endor Entrapment to prevent the damage from Deploy the Fleet then you haven't paid the cost for Deploy the Fleet's Action and don't get the effect of reducing the cost of the next Capital Ship.

 

Doing something instead of the cost still counts as paying the cost.  For instance, if you use the Action on Jabba the Hutt, but then use Spice Visions to place a damage token instead of a focus token, the cost of his Action is still considered to have been paid and his Action resolves as normal.



#7
HistoryGuy

HistoryGuy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 369 posts
Ok. Thanks for the clarification.