Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Cato VS Sanctioned Psyker and Forward Barracks


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1
WarfStyxfury

WarfStyxfury

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 268 posts

I read all the rule books and I know  about loops and deadlocks.

 

But If Cato choose to kill the new Guradsman and gets 1r everytime, this battle won't end and won't be a deadlock because Cato gets more and more resources.

 

And this is the 7th plante of the final game of the Tourment of all the Multiverses and all the honor, the peace, the love and everything are depended on it, nobody wants to lose the game by retreat.

 

And at that time both player has 0 card in their hands (whatever the form it is), 0 cards in their HQs, 0 cards in their discard areas. But I forget to say, Cato has his Tallassararian Tempest Blade in hand, there are no other cards beside those four cards (Cato, Blade, Psyker and Barracks) in play, yes even no Worr now but as the Multiverses Variant Rules it's OK.

 

So what will they do?



#2
veezya

veezya

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 129 posts

FAQ 2.0 -> 2.1 Infinite Loops



#3
WarfStyxfury

WarfStyxfury

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 268 posts

FAQ 2.0 -> 2.1 Infinite Loops

 

As the FAQ, when Infinite Loops happen, one single player can decide how many times he/she wants to do the loop and then stop.

But in my question, Worr can always choose retreat. As well as Cato. But no one can make the loops by him/her self. So I'm not sure whether it's a Infinite Loops.



#4
sharpobject

sharpobject

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

The Worr player probably chooses not to use the reaction, if all it would do is give the Cato player more resources.



#5
veezya

veezya

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 129 posts

The Worr player probably chooses not to use the reaction, if all it would do is give the Cato player more resources.

 

But he could, especially when board state is in losing position for him. Loop game is much better than losing then.


  • WarfStyxfury likes this

#6
sharpobject

sharpobject

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

That's interesting! Cato can opt for a stalemate by declining to use his reaction after gaining a billion resources. 



#7
StingerMK2

StingerMK2

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 230 posts
Worr is setting himself up for a lot of trouble letting Cato generate that many resources, it's probably in his best interest to end the stalemate

#8
WarfStyxfury

WarfStyxfury

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 268 posts

Worr is setting himself up for a lot of trouble letting Cato generate that many resources, it's probably in his best interest to end the stalemate

 

That's not an answer from the rules.



#9
StingerMK2

StingerMK2

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 230 posts

That's not an answer from the rules.


I'll grant you that, but I'd hope in all of these infinite loop scenarios the players would let common sense prevail,

#10
Inox

Inox

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
Cato gains 10000 resources and retreats; he loses the battle, but he doesn't need be worried for R anymore!

#11
WarfStyxfury

WarfStyxfury

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 268 posts

Cato gains 10000 resources and retreats; he loses the battle, but he doesn't need be worried for R anymore!

 

OK but how about if it's the 7th planet?



#12
Gosgosh

Gosgosh

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 84 posts

Given it's non-green planet AND Cato doesnt have his sword out -> Worr should use a single shield card and see how many shields the Cato player wants to lose or how many Eager Recruits/DPAs he wants to throw away.

 

Easy avoidable infinite loop.

 

 

 

And to the scenario with 7th non-green planet (or Worr bloodied) -> if you dont have any shield cards or Elysians left...just concede. You can look up the FAQ/tournament rules what you have to have to get to a draw. It's ridiculous how to get one and you are likely to lose.



#13
WarfStyxfury

WarfStyxfury

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 268 posts

I will change the original description to get rid of those shields, DPAs, and retreat.



#14
sharpobject

sharpobject

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

In the new scenario, if Cato claimed the 6th planet, he can win the game by causing a stalemate at the 7th planet.

 

If Worr claimed the 6th planet, nobody has any interest in stopping the loop. So that's fun.