Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
The new and much improved Android Netrunner Deckbuilder is now live. Check out this topic for the details!
SOLVED (not official) - [Rule] - Cell Portal
Posted 18 September 2012 - 12:59 AM
Posted 18 September 2012 - 02:25 AM
Though let's say the first piece of ice on the run, was taken down by Wyrm. Then the runner goes through a second piece of ice, but then is turned around by Cell Portal being the third piece of ice. He would then approach the second piece of ice again and would be able to jack out.
Posted 18 September 2012 - 04:26 AM
There is only one first piece of ice during a run. Even if Cell Portal returns you to the first piece of ice in the server it won't be the first piece of ice in the run again.
The Runner cannot jack out while approaching the first piece of ice during a run.
Posted 18 September 2012 - 04:31 AM
Well there are three ways this card can be interoperated I think... as in I have seen people try to use it these ways.
1) [this is how I think it is] The portal triggers, if you can not break it you are sent to the first ice in the stack where the runner is forced to encounter (can not jack out).
2) Portal triggers and sends the runner to the 1st ice, but as far as the "run" is concerned this is just the "next" ice. So there is an opportunity to jack out b4 encounter.
3) The portal sends you to the first ice were you instantly run up against the sub-routines of the 1st ice, effectively adding the sub routines of the 1st ice to cell portal, and then if you pass you simply move to the 2nd ice in stack, and normal rules apply.
Now I think 3 is defiantly wrong.. and I have been playing 1... but what is confusing me is the rules about encountering vs approaching.
Cell Portal (core) defiantly says The Runner approaches the outermost piece of ice protecting the attacked server. Key word here is "approach" not "encounter" in the card text itself.
Now it says in the rules that you have the opportunity to jack out b4 encountering after the 1st ice of the run.. but as we are ported to the front, is the ice considered the "next" ice, or is it effectively restarting the run.. meaning that you can not jack out b4 the encounter?
Posted 18 September 2012 - 04:47 AM
No, you actually CAN jack out at that point.
There is a difference between "first ice" and "outermost ice". First refers to time whereas outermost refers to the geographical position of an ice.
You are right in that the runner cannot jack out if he is approaching the first ice this run. But when Cell Portal causes the runner to approach the outermost piece of ice protecting the attacked server again, this is not the first ice the runner has approached temporally, so he still has the option to jack out at that point.
Found at BGG
Posted 18 September 2012 - 05:20 AM
- Darksbane likes this