Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

OFFICIAL rule clarifications.

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
140 replies to this topic

#1
Tragic

Tragic

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1661 posts
This thread is only for posting replies to official FFG rules questions. If you didn't get the answer directly form FFG please do not post!

You may ask FFG questions directly here!! - If you do please post in this thread for others!!
  • Darksbane and RTLixnigAnnound like this

#2
Tragic

Tragic

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1661 posts
DJINN (core)

Dose this card only host non-icebreaker programs that are installed AFTER it is played, or ... .. .

Example (is this valid)
  • We are out of memory and have 2x 1MC viruses on the table.
  • We play Djinn, then say to opponent "I'm moving these to viruses to host on Djinn" this frees 2 MU, and now I can play a ice breaker installing it into the freed memory.
The question is basically, dose Djinn only allow you to INSTALL card into it's memory, or dose it affect your total memory like say a console mod?

----- ----- --------- ----- --------- ----- --------- ----- --------- ----- --------- ----- --------- ----- --------- ----- --------- ----- --------- ----- --------- ----- ----

Lukas Litzsinger: Tragic, Thanks for the question. When you install a program, you have the choice of installing it directly into your rig or on Djinn. You cannot move programs onto it. Hope that helps.

#3
Nerdcore

Nerdcore

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 59 posts
Account Siphon, just because I feel it needs to be said.

Rule Question:
Account Siphon: When I take a credit, do I take 2 tags per credit or just 2 for the entire effect?

=====

Jayke,

2 for the entire effect.







--
Lukas Litzsinger
Game Designer
Fantasy Flight Games
  • rafastr and 4wallz like this

#4
Bierfuizl

Bierfuizl

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Rule Question:
Questions regarding timing during a run:

Server has two pieces of ice, both rezzed already. First ice encountred is Chum. Second ice is Matrix Analyzer. Matrix Analyzer is hosting a Parasite with zero virus counters on it.

Runner has Datasucker installed. It already hosts 5 virus counters. Runner has no icebreakers.

Runner now starts a run and encounters Chum first. Runner does not break Chum's subroutine. Runner then proceeds to encounter Matrix Analyzer (which now has a strength of 5). The Runner then uses the 5 virus counters on Datasucker to lower its strength to 0. Parasite triggers and trashes Matrix Analyzer.

1. Does Chum's effect (3 Net damage) trigger even if Matrix Analyzer is trashed as it already has been encountered at that stage?

A: Yes. Once the ice is encountered, Chum's ability has an effect. Trashing a piece of ice is not the same as breaking it's subroutines.

2. Does Matrix Analyzer's special ability trigger before the trashing?

A: Yes. These are not simultaneous effects. "When encountered" conditional abilities are resolved before there is an opportunity to trigger paid abilities. The ice is encountered, and the Matrix Analyzer resolves. Then the Runner could lower its strength and trash it.

#5
sotetmessias

sotetmessias

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Rule question:

1. The Marker's Eye: Do you have to play this card at the start of the run, or is it possile to play it after getting through the ices?
2. After spending one click and zero credit to play Modded, do I have to spend one more click to make the effect of the card work (i.e.lower the cost of program or hardware)?
Thanks for the answer




Fecó

#6
Scud

Scud

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 468 posts
1. Once you use a click, you have to finish that action before you can use another. So if you use a click to start a run, you can't play a card until the run is over. Luckily, The Maker's Eye starts a run as part of its effect - when you play it, you spend a click and 2 credits then make a run on R&D, which, if it is successful, lets you look at 2 additional cards. You can't surprise the Corp by playing it after the decide not to rez ICE.

2. As part of Modded's effect, you install a piece of hardware or a program for 3 credits less than its usual cost. One click to play Modded, the credits to pay for the installed hardware/program, and the hardware/program is installed.

#7
sotetmessias

sotetmessias

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Thank you



Fecó

#8
draxx

draxx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
1. Yes, e3 Feedback Implants does trigger itself so you can break all subroutines on Janus for 1 click and 3 credits.

2. Yes, the second copy of Sensei has an "End the run" subroutine. Sensei is only referring to itself, not other copies of Sensei.

Hope that helps,





--
Lukas Litzsinger

#9
BrotherYiyan

BrotherYiyan

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
Hey
This might have been answerd somewhere else but any Find it....

If a runner is running a server with the New NBN Ice TMI protecting it but undezzed..
Can the corp Rez the TMI multiple time during the same run? Ofc based on the idea of the trace being beaten and it derezzing...

Ie...
runner runs and corp Rez's TMI
Trace fails so TMI Derezze's
Can the Corp Rez it again??

#10
Ay3z1k

Ay3z1k

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
Quick clarification: an Icebreaker can't interact with a piece of ICE if it doesn't have STR equal or higher than the ICE. Example Mimic icebreaker (STR 3) can break Matrix Analyzer (STR 3) subroutine but not Data Raven (STR 4).

#11
mkosma

mkosma

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Hey
This might have been answerd somewhere else but any Find it....

If a runner is running a server with the New NBN Ice TMI protecting it but undezzed..
Can the corp Rez the TMI multiple time during the same run? Ofc based on the idea of the trace being beaten and it derezzing...

Ie...
runner runs and corp Rez's TMI
Trace fails so TMI Derezze's
Can the Corp Rez it again??


@Saturnine answered this over in the What Lies Ahead reviews and comments. He asked FFG and the answer from Lukas was that you CAN re-rez TMI after it is derezzed.

monty

#12
JeremyLarner

JeremyLarner

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts

What is the strength score of a piece of derezzed ice? (This came up because a Cell Portal was targeted by Parasite, and then derezzed itself due to its own subroutine. At what point should it be trashed?)


Derezzed ice does not have strength, and so Parasite cannot trash it while it is derezzed.


Suppose a server is protected by only Cell Portal, and due to a combination of Akitaro Watanabe and Braintrust, the rez cost of Cell Portal is zero. If the runner has no way to break the ice, then the runner is forced to approach the ice again and again until either the player chooses to jackout, or the corp chooses not to rez the ice. Suppose neither player wishes to back down (the server contains a game winning agenda for both players), should the game be declared a draw?


In the Cell Portal scenario you describe, the Runner is unable to break through the ice and access the card no matter how many times he continues to approach the ice. As such, continually running on the server would be considered stalling. The Runner can state a finite number of times he is continuing the run, and if the Corp expresses his willingness to match that number by rezzing Cell Portal then the Runner will have to jack out and the run is unsuccessful. If the Runner continues to stall in a tournament setting, then he would be given a warning and required to forfeit the game.


A similar version of the above situation occurs when TMIs rez cost is reduced to 0 and the runner has a base link strength higher than 1. The corp can choose for the trace to not succeed, and hold the game to a standstill. Should this also be declared a draw?


In the TMI example the Corp would be the one stalling, and must state the number of times he is rezzing TMI during that window. After that, the game continues as normal.

  • Gildor likes this

#13
jusright

jusright

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Say o have data sucker with 5 counters and crypsis on play.. I run and hit thorn wall .. can o is data sucker tp drop the ice strength and then use crypsis to take out the subroutines?


#14
EmeraldGuardian

EmeraldGuardian

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 114 posts
yes. You would still have to remove a counter from crypsis or trash it though.

#15
jusright

jusright

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Wow so you can combine different program effects in a single encounter.


#16
jusright

jusright

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Do multiple data suckers stack for a cumulative ice strength reduction?

#17
NDBurns

NDBurns

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
If you have 2 datasuckers you can remove a counter from each to give an ICE -2 strength.

Generally speaking, you can use all programs available to you against any piece of ICE.

#18
Jhaelen

Jhaelen

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1082 posts

Do multiple data suckers stack for a cumulative ice strength reduction?

Umm, did you read the OP?
This thread was supposed to be for collecting official answers, not ask questions.

If you have a rule question and want it answered by other forum users, please create a new thread.
If you have a rule question and want an official answer, please use the Rule Question Link over at FFG's site.

Thanks.
  • Tragic, BigRedBike and portable like this

#19
Subbak

Subbak

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts
Hi,

When the Corp installs several unrezzed cards on the same server (two upgrades, or one upgrade and an asset/agenda):
* Does it have to keep them separate so the order in which they were installed is always clear?
* Does it have to reveal them at the end of the game (or when they would be trashed) to prove to the runner that it didn't try to cheat and put two assets in the same server, like with morph creatures in Magic: The Gathering?

Similarly, does the Corp has to reveal unrezzed ice at the end of the game (or when it would be trashed) to prove that it didn't get rid of an endangered agenda in its hand this way?

The Corporation must keep the order of his installs clear to the Runner; he cannot rearrange cards in servers however he likes. If you are playing in a tournament, you can request that your opponent turn faceup all his facedown cards at the end of the game. If you are playing casually and trust your opponent, it might be more fun not to always know.



#20
Punky

Punky

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 31 posts

1. Yes, e3 Feedback Implants does trigger itself so you can break all subroutines on Janus for 1 click and 3 credits.

2. Yes, the second copy of Sensei has an "End the run" subroutine. Sensei is only referring to itself, not other copies of Sensei.

Hope that helps,





--
Lukas Litzsinger


Are you sure? I don't think bypassing subroutines (by spending clicks) is the same thing as breaking them (using an ice breaker).

EDIT: I take that back. I reread the HB ice. You're right, I'm wrong.