Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Frequently asked Questions- Check here first please


  • Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#41
Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1047 posts

Yes, you take the mental trauma.


  • AbusellGrofe likes this

#42
Minute

Minute

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 523 posts

FYI, here's the ruling from Matt. You pay the cost if you trigger any investigation while starting on Orne Library.

Greetings!

The Orne Library’s ability adds an additional cost to investigating (by any means). That cost is spending an additional action.

As for Duke’s ability, you must pay the cost of the ability before you move or investigate. This includes any additional costs.

So, though it may seem strange at first, the interaction goes like this:

—If you are at Orne Library and active Duke’s ability, you must pay the additional action (because you haven’t moved yet, and you must pay the additional cost to investigate). Then you may move elsewhere and investigate, having paid the extra action.

—If you are not at Orne Library and move into the Orne Library using Duke’s ability, you have already paid the cost of the ability and thus do not need to pay the extra action.

FAQ just overturned this ruling.


  • phillosmaster, Samea and AbusellGrofe like this

#43
phillosmaster

phillosmaster

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 566 posts

Yeah it's interesting that he changed his position on this ruling, but I'm happy actually.  It makes much more sense the way it's detailed in the FAQ. 


  • AbusellGrofe likes this

#44
BDFlory

BDFlory

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 133 posts
I get the impression they try to rule with the RAW on a day to day basis, and be more circumspect about making actual changes. Weaknesses had a few issues that were ruled provisionally with, "but the FAQ might change this."
  • AbusellGrofe likes this

#45
VonWibble

VonWibble

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2996 posts
Hunting Shadow

"Spend a clue or take 2 damage"

I assume that if you have no clues you must take 2 damage? That's how I played it anyway.

#46
Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1047 posts

Yes, you have to make a choice that changes the game state.



#47
VonWibble

VonWibble

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2996 posts
One other thing that came up

A character had both Hypochondria and Psychosis in play (respectively, "if you take any damage, take 1 horror", and "if you take any horror, take 1 damage")

1) If they were to take either damage or horror, would this create a feedback loop that kills the character and makes them insane?

and if so

2) Which of the 2 deaths would they have been considered to have suffered? Or would it be both?

In the game in question they didn't take any damage or horror and then removed the Hypochondria so its a moot point there, but was curious.

#48
Samea

Samea

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
1) Yes, this combination triggers both effects alternatingly until one takes the character out.

2) It triggers "after" you take horror/damage, so as soon as one effect takes the character out, you resolve it completely (removing cards, dropping clues etc.). After that the effects are no longer in the game.
  • Khudzlin likes this

#49
ktom

ktom

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1463 posts

2) Note that it is possible for an investigator to die and go insane at the same time, but to do so, they have to take that last damage and horror at the same time (say, from an enemy whose attack deals both damage and horror). In campaign play, such an investigator would start the next scenario with both physical and psychological trauma.

 

In this scenario, though, that will never happen because the investigator alternates between taking damage from Psychosis and horror from Hypochondria. Since the damage and horror are dealt separately, not simultaneously, one will finish the investigator off before the other (depending on the investigator's health and sanity when the loop starts).


  • phillosmaster likes this

#50
Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1047 posts

2) Note that it is possible for an investigator to die and go insane at the same time, but to do so, they have to take that last damage and horror at the same time (say, from an enemy whose attack deals both damage and horror). In campaign play, such an investigator would start the next scenario with both physical and psychological trauma.

 

Actually, an investigator defeated by damage and horror simultaneously suffers only from one type of trauma (their choice). As an aside, "killed" and "driven insane" refer to elimination from the whole campaign, not to defeat in a scenario; investigators can only be killed or driven insane by accumulated trauma or scenario resolution. The following quote come from the "Campaign Play" section in the RR.

 

 

If an investigator is defeated by simultaneously taking damage equal to his or her health and horror equal to his or her sanity, he or she chooses which type of trauma to suffer.



#51
ktom

ktom

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1463 posts

My mistake. I was remembering it incorrectly and didn't bother to look it up to verify before posting.



#52
Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1047 posts

We all do that occasionally (I made the same mistake some time ago, to be honest).



#53
VonWibble

VonWibble

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2996 posts
Orne Library "You must spend 1 additional action to investigate the Orne Library"

I played yesterday using "Ashcan" Pete. I had not seen any of the locations before as this wasa 1st playthrough and I avoided spoilers.

I used Duke's investigate ability as a last action to move to the undiscovered Orne Library and investigate.

As this is the last action I couldn't spend another action.

Would the investigate action therefore not happen?

#54
Samea

Samea

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

This is literally the example to explain the ruling for "additional costs" on p. 3 of the official FAQ document.

 

Spoilers: If you cannot pay the additional costs, this part of the action does not resolve. 

 

 


  • VonWibble likes this

#55
VonWibble

VonWibble

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2996 posts
So it is! Didn't even realise that document existed.

#56
alpha5099

alpha5099

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 295 posts

Perhaps this had been settled already, though I couldn't find an answer yesterday to whether Deduction could work with Burglary if it was Rex's ability that was discovering a clue, so I emailed FFG, and here's Mike's answer:

 

 

You are correct that Deduction & Burglary don’t work together – this is because Deduction modifies the # of clues you discover when succeeding at an investigation test, and Burglary replaces discovering clues with gaining resources. Rex’s ability works differently in this regard. He is not modifying the rewards for succeeding at the investigation test; the clue gained from his ability is an independent and separate effect. 

 
So to answer your question, if you used Burglary, Deduction and Rex’s ability all at the same time, Deduction wouldn't do anything, because it’s modifying the test result, and the clue gained from Rex’s ability is not part of the test result. You can still get 3 resources from Burglary and 1 clue from Rex’s ability, but not 2 clues.
 
I understand that this is a tricky distinction, so I hope my explanation helps! Cheers,
 
Matthew Newman


#57
TheNameWasTaken

TheNameWasTaken

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 487 posts

Posting this here because the Arkham forum doesn't have a rules subforum like it should.

 

Q:

How do The Painted World (The Path to Carcosa 12) and Delve Too Deep (The Miskatonic Museum 111) interact? Does The Painted World get added to the victory display after encounter cards are drawn? And if so, do you score 1 XP for it at the end of the scenario? Or does the game not keep track of how cards were placed in the victory display and only look at printed Victory X values?

 

A:

Greetings,

 
Whenever a card leaves play, any lasting or delayed effects affecting the card while it was in play expire (see “Leaves Play, RR, page 14). That includes The Painted World being treated as a copy of another card; as soon as The Painted World leaves play, it ceases to be a copy and goes back to just being The Painted World. Since the victory display is an out of play area, you could play The Painted World as a copy of Delve Too Deep, but as soon as it got added to the victory display it would cease to be a copy of Delve Too Deep and would go back to being The Painted World, thus losing its victory points.
 

Cheers,

------------------------------------------------
Matthew Newman
Associate LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games


#58
VonWibble

VonWibble

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2996 posts

With the Curse of the Rougaroux R3, does the Curse go into your deck?

 

R2 says you lose it, but there isn't anything I can see saying it becomes part of your deck otherwise, just that it goes into play. 



#59
BDFlory

BDFlory

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 133 posts

With the Curse of the Rougaroux R3, does the Curse go into your deck?

 

R2 says you lose it, but there isn't anything I can see saying it becomes part of your deck otherwise, just that it goes into play. 

 

It goes in your deck unless you're told to remove it. The FAQ clarifies this with an erratum:

 

Rules Reference page 21, column 2, “Weakness”

The fifth bullet point should read: “If a weakness is added to a player’s deck, hand, or threat area during the play of a scenario, that weakness remains a part of that investigator’s deck for the rest of the campaign. (Unless it is removed from the campaign by a card ability or scenario resolution.)

 

R2 is the exception that proves the rule in this case.


  • VonWibble likes this

#60
jdk5143

jdk5143

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
When upgrading a card, is the subtitle used to determine the difference between cards when the title is the same (I'm referring to any of the "unidentified/unknown" cards that take a couple packs for the real use of the cards to be known)? So if I chose both versions of strange solution (acidic ichor) would I have to spend another 4 points to change one of those versions into strange solution (restorative concoction? Or, because it's the same titled card, would I spend the difference to a minimum of one point?