Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Jubba Birds and Icons


Best Answer jawbone , 17 October 2016 - 01:41 PM

In the rules, p 20,  "Resolving a Strike- Resolving Combat Icons by Type" it says "There are three types of combat icons."   So blast, gun, tactics are the three types.  Within those types, icons may be white or black (allowing for two different icons of the same type).

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1
doctormungmung

doctormungmung

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 861 posts

So this came up in a game last night.  Consider the Jubba Bird:

 

Action: Sacrifice this unit to target a Character or Creature unit and choose a combat icon type. Until the end of the phase, that unit loses all combat icons of the chosen type and cannot gain combat icons. 

 

Now consider Dengar:

 

Elite.
Reaction: After this unit is focused to strike, it gains X different combat icons of your choice until the end of the strike. X is the number of objectives you control with at least 1 captured card. 

 

Can edge enabled icons and non-edge enabled icons be considered the "same type"?  IE, is a black tactics and a white tactics still just a tactics?  Is Tactics a type?  What are the explicit definitions that go along with this question?


  • yodaman likes this

#2
jawbone

jawbone

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 132 posts
✓  Best Answer

In the rules, p 20,  "Resolving a Strike- Resolving Combat Icons by Type" it says "There are three types of combat icons."   So blast, gun, tactics are the three types.  Within those types, icons may be white or black (allowing for two different icons of the same type).


  • yodaman likes this

#3
yodaman

yodaman

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2805 posts

Looks like doctormungmung and I played it correctly. :)  Too bad I used Doole to steal the win from him in that game. 



#4
theChony

theChony

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 307 posts

Don't forget that if Jubba Bird picks unit damage for Dengar, he is lame. Last part of Jubba Bird says that unit cannot gain icons. 


  • Boreas, Thaliak and GreedoShotFirst like this

#5
GreedoShotFirst

GreedoShotFirst

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 746 posts

Don't forget that if Jubba Bird picks unit damage for Dengar, he is lame. Last part of Jubba Bird says that unit cannot gain icons. 

 

Wow. This is a big point. As it is written, as long as you sack the Jubba and claim no guns on Dengar, he can't gain anything bombs, guns, or tactics since it doesn't add "of the selected type" to the end of its action. When it says it can't gain icons, it isn't limited to the ones you selected. 



#6
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3930 posts

Yep.  Dengar is really not a fan of the birds.


  • Muddervader likes this