Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

From BGG: Prey Keyword


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1
GamingLama

GamingLama

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

If you draw an Encounter card and draw an Enemy with the Prey Keyword, do you engage it (because you drew the card) or do you already have to apply the Prey Keyword, if there are other investigators at your location.

(Or does Prey only account when re-engaging after evasion or possible Hunting?)

 

Arguments made so far:

 

Rules Reference Page 19 – Spawn
“If an enemy has no Spawn instruction, it spawns engaged with the investigator who drew it.”

Rules Reference Page 17 – Prey
“Prey has no immediate effect on where an enemy will spawn.”


As well as:

Rules Reference Page 17 – Prey “Prey has no immediate effect on where an enemy will spawn.”

WHERE is a definition of locality. Not WHOM it will engage.


Prey also says:
"If an enemy that is about to automatically engage an
investigator at its location has multiple options of whom to
engage, that enemy engages the investigator who best meets
its “prey” instructions (if multiple investigators are tied in
meeting these instructions, the lead investigator may decide
among them) (see “Enemy Engagement” on page 10)."      

 



#2
987654321

987654321

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
When you draw an enemy, it doesn't have multiple options where to choose, because it engages you. Therefore, it seems logical to me that it engages you as normal. Also, The Masked Hunter spawns engaged with Prey, which would not be necessary if what you said was the rule.

#3
BDFlory

BDFlory

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 133 posts
When an enemy is drawn from the encounter deck, it doesn't have "multiple options of whom to engage." It wngages with the investigator who drew it unless it has spawn.

If an enemy does have spawn, the normal instructions are ignored, so if there are multiple enemies in its spawn location, prey applies.

#4
Gaffa

Gaffa

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts

When an enemy is drawn from the encounter deck, it doesn't have "multiple options of whom to engage." It wngages with the investigator who drew it unless it has spawn.

If an enemy does have spawn, the normal instructions are ignored, so if there are multiple enemies in its spawn location, prey applies.

 

Not quite; if you draw an enemy, you encounter it unless its Spawn overrules that. Prey has no effect on minty-fresh newly-drawn enemies; you draw it, you tank it is the rule unless a Spawn effect overrides it (see Enemy Cards, p. 10, RR). So even if you are standing among three friends and you draw a non-Spawn-limited enemy with a Prey that would normally leave you alone, you still end up engaged with it.

 

If you manage to shake off an enemy with Prey, then Prey will come into play if there's two or more investigators at their location, as normal, once they are readied.

 

Prey really isn't used much in the game; it's the tie-breaker of last resort. Hunters move towards the nearest investigator, ignoring Prey. Drawn enemies ignore Prey. Prey only matters if there's two immediate choices for engagement, and then the enemy gets to pick its buffet option.



#5
BDFlory

BDFlory

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 133 posts
Matt Newman actually ruled on this after several people asked thanks to a bgg thread.

The rrg says, "if the encountered enemy has no spawn instruction, the enemy spawns engaged with the investigator who drew it" (p 24).

If it has a spawn instruction, it spawns in the appropriate location, and uses the engagement rules on page 10 (although there is one case where card text overrides this and a monster with spawn also engages with its prey).

Usually, if there are multiple investigators, this means it's the lead's choice. Prey overrides that, though, and the newly spawned monster would engage with whomever best meets the prey qualification.

I'll see about pasting his answer into the FAQ sticky here.

#6
DadouXIII

DadouXIII

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

What about enemies which are put into play NOT by drawing them from the encounter deck?

 

###### SPOILERS ######

 

Like the Ghoul Priest who has a Prey: Investigator with the Highest Strength. who is put into play in the Hallway where all the investigators are. If Agnes and Roland are present when he is put into play, I automatically engage him to Roland. Is it correct?



#7
Gaffa

Gaffa

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Like the Ghoul Priest who has a Prey: Investigator with the Highest Strength. who is put into play in the Hallway where all the investigators are. If Agnes and Roland are present when he is put into play, I automatically engage him to Roland. Is it correct?

 

Correct. The Ghoul Priest isn't drawn by anyone, he (she?) is just spawned in the Hallway. As such, then Prey kicks in, and Roland takes the brute.


  • BDFlory likes this

#8
Friman

Friman

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 63 posts
What about enemies like the Mob enforcer or the Detective? Will they engage you even if they're not your weakness, if you're the only investigator at their location because of standard rules, or will they ignore you because their prey instruction is only the investigator whose deck they're part of?

#9
BDFlory

BDFlory

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 133 posts
"Prey only" enemies (including all of the basic weakness enemies) ignore anyone who isn't their prey when engaging.

Other investigators can still voluntarily engage and/or attack them with actions.

See RRG 17, under Prey.
  • Friman and Gaffa like this

#10
Friman

Friman

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 63 posts
That one went under my radar, thank you!