Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Advancing act: forced or optional?

Advancing Act

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1
jdk5143

jdk5143

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
If all the requirements are met to advance the act, outside of spending clue tokens, is it forced to advance? Namely, I'm thinking of the third act of the first scenarios (what have we done).

There was a situation where it would have been advantageous for us to keep investigating after we killed the ghoul priest, but we weren't sure if we had to advance or not.

#2
meathook

meathook

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 69 posts
My group also encountered this situation. The card says: Objective - If the Ghoul Priest is defeated, advance. This isn't an action, but a check on the board state. You do not have the ability to ignore or postpone this check. The instance of the Ghoul Priest dying triggers the effect on the act card and causes it to resolve.
  • phillosmaster likes this

#3
phillosmaster

phillosmaster

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 568 posts

Yeah agreed. If the Act card says may or if the Act card requires you to spend an action to advance it then you have some freedom in when you advance the Act, but in this case you do not since the Act deck is testing the board state.  Once the test is satisfied the Act deck advances.



#4
meathook

meathook

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 69 posts
You do not need to spend clues to advance an act deck as soon as you have the minimum amount of clues required to advance. Spending clues to advance the act deck is a "free action" that anyone can do during their turn. This is not a required action, as you can accumulate more clues before advancing the act if you prefer to do so.
  • Gaffa likes this