Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

I've Got a Problem Here question


Best Answer theChony , 03 January 2017 - 04:08 PM

med_SWC34_247-5.jpg

 

Assume the balance of the force is already with the Dark Side going into the force phase. If DS maintains force is the balance considered to be "set" to the DS again? I need to know if I can play this card in a game where DS will be holding force pretty much the whole game or if it only works when DS takes force back from you.

 

The Balance of the Force is only “set” to a particular side if it has to change. If the Balance of the Force is with the dark side, and the DS player wins the Force struggle, the Balance of the Force just remains on the dark side and isn’t set to anything.
 

If the LS player has the Force, and the DS player wins the Force struggle, then the Balance of the Force would be set to the DS (as it has to change from LS to DS).



---
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer
Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1
kiramode

kiramode

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1863 posts

med_SWC34_247-5.jpg

 

Assume the balance of the force is already with the Dark Side going into the force phase. If DS maintains force is the balance considered to be "set" to the DS again? I need to know if I can play this card in a game where DS will be holding force pretty much the whole game or if it only works when DS takes force back from you.



#2
yodaman

yodaman

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2793 posts

Good question.  My gut says it probably only works after it is flipped from one side to the other, either by winning the force struggle or by the force changing sides one of the other cards that can change balance like Jedi's Resolve, Forgotten Masters or Call of the Cult.  I don't have the rules in front of me right now to try to see if I can find a reference though.

 

It sure seems like it would work if the Navy one gets played first (and vice versa) though to put it back. :)



#3
Crouton

Crouton

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 503 posts

Well, the wording of the rule of book on page 15 says, "The player with the highest Force total flips the Balance of the Force token so that his side of the Force faces up." It definitely makes it sound like the Balance is reset every Force phase, even if it isn't changing sides. 

So I'd say you could play it.



#4
Jarratt

Jarratt

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3660 posts

Well, the wording of the rule of book on page 15 says, "The player with the highest Force total flips the Balance of the Force token so that his his side of the Force faces up." It definitely makes it sound like the Balance is reset every Force phase, even if it isn't changing sides.
So I'd say you could play it.


I hope this isn't the case.

#5
Crouton

Crouton

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 503 posts

Good question.  My gut says it probably only works after it is flipped from one side to the other, either by winning the force struggle or by the force changing sides one of the other cards that can change balance like Jedi's Resolve, Forgotten Masters or Call of the Cult.  I don't have the rules in front of me right now to try to see if I can find a reference though.

 

It sure seems like it would work if the Navy one gets played first (and vice versa) though to put it back. :)

 

I guess the question boils down to whether Changes = Set. My gut is no, but I'm often wrong.



#6
Crouton

Crouton

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 503 posts

I hope this isn't the case.

 

Is there another interaction that is effected? Why would that be catastrophic?



#7
Jarratt

Jarratt

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3660 posts

Is there another interaction that is effected? Why would that be catastrophic?


These are very strong cards. They mess with the timing and win conditions. If the card doesn't need to flip the LS can ignore the force in their turn but still flip the card to prevent the dial going up which slows down the DS.

To me it feels like they are trying to create more interaction with the force phase not less.

#8
theChony

theChony

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 307 posts

Nothing in the core or FAQ to hint at an answer. This seems undefined, I've submitted the question. If it can work, this can be a pretty strong card.



#9
kiramode

kiramode

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1863 posts

The strongest use of this card is to ensure you turn off Enforced Loyalty turn 1, but I would prefer that it always takes the force. Rebel vehicles desperately need the ability to take force in some situations. Although if you can always take the force the card functions as a 1 mana deal one damage card effect which could be a tad too powerful.



#10
theChony

theChony

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 307 posts
✓  Best Answer

med_SWC34_247-5.jpg

 

Assume the balance of the force is already with the Dark Side going into the force phase. If DS maintains force is the balance considered to be "set" to the DS again? I need to know if I can play this card in a game where DS will be holding force pretty much the whole game or if it only works when DS takes force back from you.

 

The Balance of the Force is only “set” to a particular side if it has to change. If the Balance of the Force is with the dark side, and the DS player wins the Force struggle, the Balance of the Force just remains on the dark side and isn’t set to anything.
 

If the LS player has the Force, and the DS player wins the Force struggle, then the Balance of the Force would be set to the DS (as it has to change from LS to DS).



---
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer

  • Muddervader, Majestaat, yodaman and 3 others like this