Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Well, we *do* have to look at our basic weakness...


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
alduc

alduc

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 113 posts
Since the game was release one subject of discussion was whether it was expected to look at the basic weakness that gets shuffled into our deck before the start of the game, or to go in blind.

Well, that discussion is over: the Dunwich Legacy expansion includes a basic weakness with the "Permanent" keyword, that starts in play and doesn't go into the deck. It makes it necessary to look at the card before the campaign starts.
  • MightyToenail likes this

#2
MitchG

MitchG

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 192 posts

I'm actually tempted to 'house rule' that particular one out of my collection just so I can keep putting weaknesses in blind. 


  • MightyToenail likes this

#3
phillosmaster

phillosmaster

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 566 posts

I always looked at my weaknesses when I draw them anyway.  I get surprised enough in this game.  With the advent of permanent weaknesses this does make it sort of impossible to play with the weaknesses being hidden information unless you exclude those weaknesses from the pool like MitchG suggested.  I don't see why that would be a problem.  The weaknesses are dealt out randomly anyway so you may never see those cards in an investigators deck your entire time playing this game.


  • MightyToenail likes this

#4
MaShiKai

MaShiKai

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 93 posts

I never look, I love the randomness factor. Just like choosing the Downtown and Southside cards in the second scenario or the Arkham Woods


  • MightyToenail likes this

#5
Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1049 posts

I never look at random locations. I also try not to know about which agents come up in The Devourer Below (it takes some doing, but it's possible). For weaknesses, I don't have a strong opinion either way, but Dunwich certainly makes looking mandatory.


  • MightyToenail likes this

#6
xchan

xchan

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 206 posts
Some people shuffle the permanent weakness faceup so they dont have to look at the other weaknesses.
  • leizeQ, Veetek, TheNameWasTaken and 2 others like this

#7
phillosmaster

phillosmaster

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 566 posts

That's a pretty nice suggestion.


  • MightyToenail likes this

#8
refbot

refbot

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 323 posts

i just assumed that the permanent weakness didnt come into effect until you drew it to preserve the surprise for that weakness.


  • MightyToenail likes this

#9
Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1049 posts

i just assumed that the permanent weakness didnt come into effect until you drew it to preserve the surprise for that weakness.

 

Wrong. A card with the Permanent keyword starts in play. Also, Indebted (the weakness in question) takes effect at the start of each scenario and doesn't have a Revelation effect. It would have absolutely no effect if you drew it during a game. It would be really weak if you could avoid it automatically during the first scenario and as long as you can avoid drawing it.

 

 

Permanent
Permanent is a deckbuilding keyword ability.
• A card with the permanent keyword does not count towards your deck size.
• A card with the permanent keyword still counts as being part of your deck and must therefore adhere to all other deckbuilding restrictions.
• A card with the permanent keyword starts each game in play and is not shuffled into your investigator deck during setup.
• A card with the permanent keyword cannot be discarded by any means.


  • Gaffa and MightyToenail like this

#10
Gaffa

Gaffa

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts

i just assumed that the permanent weakness didnt come into effect until you drew it to preserve the surprise for that weakness.

 

No. All Permanent cards in your deck begin the game in play, and cannot be discarded from play (RR, p. 16).


  • MightyToenail likes this

#11
Gaffa

Gaffa

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts
Double post, sorry.
  • MightyToenail likes this

#12
swornabsent

swornabsent

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts
I'd given this some thought before our first game and ultimately decided to just go ahead and look, partially because I couldn't find any rules suggesting we shouldn't and because I couldn't be sure one wouldn't see it anyway in an opening draw or via some other game effect, but most importantly because I feel it actually makes a lot more thematic sense to know. If you have a mob enforcer on your back you'd know about it, and know that it's a thing you need to be prepared to deal with. I for example drew Paranoia my first game, and though the chances of actually drawing it were low it caused me to play in much more paranoid fashion with my resources!
  • MightyToenail likes this

#13
phillosmaster

phillosmaster

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 566 posts

I agree for a lot of the weaknesses it does make sense that you'd know about your preexisting condition.  So thematically I thought it was fine.  Per the rules there is nothing suggesting weaknesses are hidden information.  All that said I can see it being exciting knowing your deck has this mysterious element to it that you might draw into at any moment. 


  • TheNameWasTaken and MightyToenail like this