Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Gift of Isha and Fall Back!


Best Answer ktom , 11 March 2017 - 01:51 PM

No.

 

- When Gift of Isha puts a card into play, there is a delayed effect on that card to discard it at the end of the phase.

- When the card leaves play, all lasting and delayed effects on the card end.

- If the card returns to play in the same phase, it is considered a new instance of the card; lasting and delayed effects from before it left play are not reinstated.

- So, when Fall Back! returns the unit to play, there is no "discard at the end of phase" delayed effect on the card.

 

Another application of this fact that all lasting and delayed effects end for a card that leaves play:

- Play Empower of Planet X.

- An "Empowered" Eldar unit at Planet X is destroyed, and the bonus from Empower ends for that card.

- You use Gift of Isha to return that unit to Planet X.

- The returned unit no longer receives the bonus from Empower (because it left play and so is not considered to have been at the planet when Empower was played).

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1
WarfStyxfury

WarfStyxfury

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 268 posts

Gift of Isha

Action: Put the topmost Eldar unit from your discard pile into play at a planet. If that unit is still in play at the end of the phase, discard it.

 

Fall Back!

Reaction: After an Elite unit is destroyed, put it into play from your discard pile at your HQ.

 

So if a Eldar Elite unit gets into play by Gift of Isha, then is destroyed and Fall Back, will it be discarded at the end of the phase?


  • Skyknight, KalisaBeD and RTAudiz like this

#2
ktom

ktom

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1463 posts
✓  Best Answer

No.

 

- When Gift of Isha puts a card into play, there is a delayed effect on that card to discard it at the end of the phase.

- When the card leaves play, all lasting and delayed effects on the card end.

- If the card returns to play in the same phase, it is considered a new instance of the card; lasting and delayed effects from before it left play are not reinstated.

- So, when Fall Back! returns the unit to play, there is no "discard at the end of phase" delayed effect on the card.

 

Another application of this fact that all lasting and delayed effects end for a card that leaves play:

- Play Empower of Planet X.

- An "Empowered" Eldar unit at Planet X is destroyed, and the bonus from Empower ends for that card.

- You use Gift of Isha to return that unit to Planet X.

- The returned unit no longer receives the bonus from Empower (because it left play and so is not considered to have been at the planet when Empower was played).


  • steinerp, WarfStyxfury and Skyknight like this

#3
KalisaBeD

KalisaBeD

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
But does the Falling Back unit still get to fire Overwatch even tho they are Falling Back?

#4
Blackwhyn

Blackwhyn

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 37 posts

What do you mean by "fire Overwatch"?

"Fall back!" is triggered when the unit is destroyed and the unit is then put in you HQ, so it doesn't have any opportunity to attack before the effect resolves (since it happens as a reaction to the destruction, still during the other player's combat turn).



#5
Stephgofe

Stephgofe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
A Brood of Hormagaunts declares an Assault against an enemy unit which has failed Morale and is currently Falling Back We already know how to resolve this when the Assault actually happens, but the question is, can the Falling Back Unit still fire Overwatch?

#6
Blackwhyn

Blackwhyn

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 37 posts

I think you guys are talking about tabletop Warhammer 40k (either that or I missed the point) and this forum is for Warhammer 40k Conquest (the card game for Warhammer 40k).



#7
Blackwhyn

Blackwhyn

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 37 posts

A Brood of Hormagaunts declares an Assault against an enemy unit which has failed Morale and is currently Falling Back We already know how to resolve this when the Assault actually happens, but the question is, can the Falling Back Unit still fire Overwatch?

 

I think you guys are talking about tabletop Warhammer 40k (either that or I missed the point) and this forum is for Warhammer 40k Conquest (the card game for Warhammer 40k).