Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Prevention/reduction/reassignment of damage as a cost


Best Answer steinerp , 30 March 2017 - 01:17 PM

The damage must actually be placed on the unit for the cost to have been paid.  The thread you linked to explains why.  Increasing or decreasing a cost is different than not paying it.  Note that is why Mavros doesn't have a cost associated with his ability, rather 2 effects, 1 that deals damage and 1 that increases attack. 

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1
Intolerance

Intolerance

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts

Smash ‘n Bash

Combat Action: Deal 1 damage to each unit you control at a target planet without an enemy warlord to ready up to 3 units you control at that planet.

 

Rockcrete Bunker

Interrupt: When damage is assigned to a unit you control, exhaust this support to reassign 1 of that damage to this support.

 

Follower of Gork

Each Elite unit you control at this planet gains, "Interrupt: When this unit is assigned damage, reduce that damage by 2."

 

Enginseer Mechanic

 

Reaction: After a Vehicle unit you control at this planet is assigned damage, exhaust this unit to prevent up to 2 of that damage. 

 

 

I've seen mention that preventing damage as a cost would cause the cost to not be considered paid (http://www.cardgamed...ost-shieldable/) and am curious what constitutes the successful payment of a cost that is damage? Can some/all of it be prevented/reduced to 0/reassigned or must that amount of damage be placed on the units it's dealt to. When damage is dealt to multiple units, must they all take the damage or just one of them?

 

Since the 'cost reducer' supports can reduce resource costs, it seems like at least that is valid for damage as well.



#2
steinerp

steinerp

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 833 posts
✓  Best Answer

The damage must actually be placed on the unit for the cost to have been paid.  The thread you linked to explains why.  Increasing or decreasing a cost is different than not paying it.  Note that is why Mavros doesn't have a cost associated with his ability, rather 2 effects, 1 that deals damage and 1 that increases attack. 


  • Skyknight and Blackwhyn like this

#3
Intolerance

Intolerance

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts

The damage must actually be placed on the unit for the cost to have been paid.  The thread you linked to explains why.  Increasing or decreasing a cost is different than not paying it.  Note that is why Mavros doesn't have a cost associated with his ability, rather 2 effects, 1 that deals damage and 1 that increases attack. 

 

Great, thanks. It is interesting that if your opponent has an ability to prevent or reassign damage to units they don't control, they're able to prevent your cost from being paid.



#4
steinerp

steinerp

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 833 posts

It would have to be pretty specifically worded ability but yes it is in theory possible.  The closest I can think of is the "The Eyrie" in Game of Thrones which prevents a character from being killed for a phase.  There are no effects I can think of that require you to kill a character you control but if one did and you only had one character eligible to be targetted, the Eyrie could make that action unplayable.