Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Hallucination and Allies of Necessity


Best Answer dbmeboy , 21 August 2017 - 12:57 AM

Hallucination attempts to resolve the effect of Allies of Necessity.  However, the effect would fail at step 1 (check restrictions).  The effect of Allies of Necessity requires targeting 2 participating units which do not share an affiliation.  Per pg 27 of the rule book: If there is no valid target for a targeting effect, the effect cannot be initiated.

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1
IAmBatman

IAmBatman

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 203 posts

Hallucination: You may resolve the effects of a fate card not named Hallucination in any edge stack as if it were revealed in your edge stack. If the Balance of the Force is with the dark side, resolve the effects twice instead.

 

Allies of Necessity: You may target 2 participating units you control that do not share an affiliation. If you do, one targeted unit gains [Unit Damage] and the other gains [Blast Damage] until the end of the engagement.

 

If the Dark side player does not have two units that do not share an affiliation, can they still trigger Hallucination to gain the icons, assuming they have 2 units. Could they trigger it to gain one of the icons, if they only have 1 unit?

 

 
 


#2
Lertush

Lertush

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 163 posts

Hallucination: You may resolve the effects of a fate card not named Hallucination in any edge stack as if it were revealed in your edge stack. If the Balance of the Force is with the dark side, resolve the effects twice instead.[/size]

Allies of Necessity: You may target 2 participating units you control that do not share an affiliation. If you do, one targeted unit gains [Unit Damage] and the other gains [Blast Damage] until the end of the engagement.[/size]

If the Dark side player does not have two units that do not share an affiliation, can they still trigger Hallucination to gain the icons, assuming they have 2 units. Could they trigger it to gain one of the icons, if they only have 1 unit?


In short, i think DS player should control two participating units that do not share an affiliation in order to effectively resolve Allies of Necessity's effect.

Allies of Necessity doesn't read "target two participating units... TO do something".

So, it seems targeting two participating units that do not share an affiliation isn't cost, but part of Allies of Necessity's effect. And the second part begins "If you do", so it will not work if DS player doesn't resolve the first part.

Maybe it should be added, that DS player could resolve Allies of Necessity's effect in any case, but if he doesn't control necessary units, the effect will not be useful.

#3
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3927 posts
Lertush has it basically right. Not marking it as solved right now to remind myself to come back and post a more detailed explanation after GenCon.

#4
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3927 posts
✓  Best Answer

Hallucination attempts to resolve the effect of Allies of Necessity.  However, the effect would fail at step 1 (check restrictions).  The effect of Allies of Necessity requires targeting 2 participating units which do not share an affiliation.  Per pg 27 of the rule book: If there is no valid target for a targeting effect, the effect cannot be initiated.