Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Black squadron pilot... pilot?


Best Answer Thaliak , 18 February 2018 - 07:45 AM

Black Squadron Pilot doesn't have the Pilot (X) keyword, so it doesn't have a Pilot cost. Fortunately, the cards that reduce pilot costs, such as Flight Academy, also reduce cost. You pay that cost whether Black Squadron Pilot comes into play as a unit or as an enhancement, so the reduction will apply.

 

Stay on Target works on any unit with the Pilot trait, including Black Squadron Pilot. However, unless a unit has text that allows it to enhance the vehicle it's attached to, it will fall of immediately. Black Squadron Pilot will stay on because the errataed version allows it to enter play as an enhancement on a fighter the Dark Side player controls. However, Rookie Pilot won't stay on, because it has no text allowing it to enhance a vehicle.

 

Mod edit: As noted below, this ruling has changed.

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1
Frtn

Frtn

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts

Hi guys, I would like to know if Black squadron pilot:

http://www.cardgamed...pilot-core-21-4

Or rather his text should be treated like classic pilot keyword.

For example, if some card tells you something about decreasing pilot cost, does it count here? Or he has no pilot cost? Or despite that his cost is lowered as he is just pilot?

And same in analogical situations, whenever piloting is so important (for example on "stay on target")



#2
Thaliak

Thaliak

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 387 posts
✓  Best Answer

Black Squadron Pilot doesn't have the Pilot (X) keyword, so it doesn't have a Pilot cost. Fortunately, the cards that reduce pilot costs, such as Flight Academy, also reduce cost. You pay that cost whether Black Squadron Pilot comes into play as a unit or as an enhancement, so the reduction will apply.

 

Stay on Target works on any unit with the Pilot trait, including Black Squadron Pilot. However, unless a unit has text that allows it to enhance the vehicle it's attached to, it will fall of immediately. Black Squadron Pilot will stay on because the errataed version allows it to enter play as an enhancement on a fighter the Dark Side player controls. However, Rookie Pilot won't stay on, because it has no text allowing it to enhance a vehicle.

 

Mod edit: As noted below, this ruling has changed.


  • Frtn likes this

#3
punkeedo

punkeedo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 79 posts

However, Rookie Pilot won't stay on, because it has no text allowing it to enhance a vehicle.

 

As a complete aside, I've always thought this should be errata'ed.


  • doctormungmung likes this

#4
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3927 posts
Rookiee pilot was another casualty of the Tarkin ruling.
  • punkeedo likes this

#5
Sittned

Sittned

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
What is the Tarkin ruling?

#6
Thaliak

Thaliak

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 387 posts

The Tarkin ruling held that for an enhancement to stay in play attached to a unit, it needed to always have text saying it could be attached to that unit. For example, a pilot needed the Pilot (X) keyword or text along the lines of, "This unit may be played as an enhancement attached to a Fighter or Speeder," Trust Your Feelings needed text saying it could be attached to a character unit, and Shien Training needed text saying it could be attached to a Force User. If that text was removed through a blanking effect, such as Tarkin's reaction, the enhancement would have to be discarded. This meant that Tarkin could knock pilots out of their ships and cause even the most seasoned Jedi to drop their Lightsaber or forget their training.

Fortunately, the ruling was reversed as of the final official FAQ. Section 2.19 now reads in part, "If an enhancement does not have attachment conditions, it is not discarded (as the card or game element it is attached to cannot contradict no condition)." Tarkin can still cause the pilot version of Han to forget how to keep someone out of an engagement, but he can't force him to hit the eject button. Even the Rookie Pilot will stay in his seat (i.e., attached to the vehicle) if Tarkin blanks him.



#7
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3927 posts

Yeah, I've edited the post to reflect the updated ruling.


  • yodaman likes this