Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Ahsoka informant


Best Answer TheNameWasTaken , 27 February 2018 - 03:54 PM

Interrupts happen before their triggering conditions - therefore, in this case, before edge stacks are revealed.

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1
Frtn

Frtn

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts

I've seen your answer about it, guys. Still I don't understand it for sure.

 

 

So, as it interrupts, do we see edge stacks before we use it or not? I mean, can it be like this, that edge stacks are revealed, we see that wae are losing in force icons and then still can use Ahsoka informant? (as reveal didn't finish yet?)


Interrupt: When edge stacks are revealed, sacrifice this unit to place a [Jedi] card from your discard pile into your edge stack. 

 

 



#2
TheNameWasTaken

TheNameWasTaken

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 489 posts
✓  Best Answer

Interrupts happen before their triggering conditions - therefore, in this case, before edge stacks are revealed.



#3
Thaliak

Thaliak

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 379 posts

For emphasis, before edge stacks are revealed means after both players have passed on the opportunity to place cards into the edge stack but before any cards are turned over. In other words, the Light Side has to decide whether to use Ahsoka's informant without seeing the Dark Side's edge stack. It could be a waste. Perhaps the Dark Side has a Twist of Fate, a Prince's Scheme or four Palpatines in their stack, or perhaps they're only throwing in low-pip cards to deplete the Light Side's hand.

 

That's frustrating, but it makes using the card more interesting. If it could place a five-pip edge card into the edge stack without any risk, it would take much of the tension out of edge battles, which are normally one of the most fun parts of the game.



#4
sirivanhoe2

sirivanhoe2

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Not sure if I'd agree with this one. It doesn't use the word 'before'.

 

The interupt is:- When edge stacks are revealed, sacrifice this unit to place a [Jedi] card from your discard pile into your edge stack. 

 

The condition/trigger happens first, then the action, then the new result can be determined.

 

The triggering condition is the revealing of the edge stack. So this has to be in the process of happening. The 'adding up' of the edge stack is then interupted until after the unit is sacrificed and a jedi card is added to the stack.



#5
Thaliak

Thaliak

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 379 posts

It doesn't need to use "before," because Page 24 of the rule book instructs players to "resolve interrupts to a triggering condition before resolving the effects of the triggering condition." In this case, the triggering condition is "when edge stacks are revealed." Since interrupts occur before the triggering condition, the Light Side player must choose whether to use Ahsoka's Informant before seeing either edge stack.


  • Rio likes this

#6
sirivanhoe2

sirivanhoe2

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Thanks for the explanation.

Looking at a post elsewhere you're right  :)

I guess it still helps to recycle the Jedi fate card



#7
Thaliak

Thaliak

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 379 posts

It does! It can also put your opponent in an awkward position. If you have Yoda or the four-pip version of Luke in discard and the edge battle is one they care about, they need to put in quite a few pips to be safe.

The informant can also act as Twist insurance. If they Twist away your Yoda and you have an Informant on board, don't worry! You can bring Yoda back in.