Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

[Ruling] Kaito Temple Protector


Best Answer mplain , 03 April 2018 - 08:43 AM

If Kaito Temple Protector targets a character with a dash in a skill value, would the Protector's skill be set to a dash, or to 0?


The Kaito Temple Protector would acquire a dash in that skill value, as “dash” is a valid skill value.

[Tyler Parrott, 02.04.2018] Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1442 posts
If Kaito Temple Protector targets a character with a dash in a skill value, would the Protector's skill be set to a dash, or to 0?

Kaito Temple Protector
Action: While this character is defending, choose another participating charactert - until the end of the conflict, set this character's base MIL and POL skill to the chosen character's current skill values.



#2
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1442 posts
✓  Best Answer

If Kaito Temple Protector targets a character with a dash in a skill value, would the Protector's skill be set to a dash, or to 0?


The Kaito Temple Protector would acquire a dash in that skill value, as “dash” is a valid skill value.

[Tyler Parrott, 02.04.2018]

#3
Edweird

Edweird

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Tyler:

Does KTP setting its base negate bonuses/penalties from being honored or dishonored since it is his base being set versus his current skill like earthcaller or wicked tetsubo does. The subtile difference between base and current is what I am focusing on.

Odd example, you defend with two KTP's. Manage to honor one, then set the others base to the honored KTPs current, Then set the honored one to the ordinary KTPs current. Do you have 10 skill or 12?

Set is weird, so asking this in context is the intention since as I understand it it is the most potent method of modifier that turns off not only all standard buffs but also honored and dishonored effects

#4
BayushiShunsuke

BayushiShunsuke

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts

Setting a base skill to X does not affect any other modifiers, including Honored/Dishonored status.

Setting a skill to X overrides all other modifier, past and future, until the set expires.

So it seems you are aware of, as you stated, the subtle difference.

 

Using your example:

KTP1 is a 3/3,

KTP2 is a 3/3.
You honor KTP1, making him 5/5.(but still base 3/3).

KTP2 sets his base to KTP1's current, making him 5/5.

KTP1 sets his base to KTP2's current, making him a 7/7 (5/5 base + 2/2 from Honored status).



#5
Edweird

Edweird

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Very happy with this input, glad to see there is a distinct diffrence in setting a base vs setting current skill.