Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

[Ruling] Missandei + Heads on Spikes

- - - - -

Best Answer mplain , 04 April 2018 - 08:27 PM

Missandei is discarded with Heads on Spikes. If her interrupt is triggered, is she still placed in the dead pile? If so, does she ever enter play?

 

Missandei will end up in play. Her interrupt’s replacement effect will put her into play instead of the discard pile, and FAQ entry 2.4 (Card Abilities & Out-of-Play Areas) prevents Heads on Spikes from placing her into the dead pile from play.

 

[Danny Schaefer, 30.3.2018]

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1
colonialbob

colonialbob

    Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

Missandei is discarded with Heads on Spikes. If her interrupt is triggered, is she still placed in the dead pile? If so, does she ever enter play?


  • ystros likes this

#2
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1309 posts
✓  Best Answer

Missandei is discarded with Heads on Spikes. If her interrupt is triggered, is she still placed in the dead pile? If so, does she ever enter play?

 

Missandei will end up in play. Her interrupt’s replacement effect will put her into play instead of the discard pile, and FAQ entry 2.4 (Card Abilities & Out-of-Play Areas) prevents Heads on Spikes from placing her into the dead pile from play.

 

[Danny Schaefer, 30.3.2018]


  • ystros likes this

#3
Sulpures

Sulpures

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 117 posts

Missandei will end up in play. Her interrupt’s replacement effect will put her into play instead of the discard pile, and FAQ entry 2.4 (Card Abilities & Out-of-Play Areas) prevents Heads on Spikes from placing her into the dead pile from play.

 

[Danny Schaefer, 30.3.2018]

 

So it's not the same as the head on spikes/now my watch begins situation? For Missandei's ability is an interrupt/replacement?



#4
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1309 posts

So it's not the same as the head on spikes/now my watch begins situation? For Missandei's ability is an interrupt/replacement?

 

It is not the same, partly because Missandei's ability is an Interrupt, but also because Missandei is not attempting to interact with out-of-play cards.

 

Now My Watch Begins is played after the entire effect of Heads On Spikes is resolved (so after the character is placed in the dead pile), and it cannot interact with cards in the dead pile since that specific out-of-play area is not referred to in the ability's text (as per FAQ 2.4).