Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

[Ruling] Daenerys Targaryen (TFM) + Strangler

- - - - -

Best Answer colonialbob , 19 April 2018 - 12:46 AM

Daenerys’s “cannot be reduced” ability applies to “set” modifiers that would reduce her STR. If she participated in a challenge while Strangler was attached to her, her STR would remain at 3.


[Danny Schaefer, 18.04.2018]

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1442 posts
Does Strangler affect the new Deny?
 

Daenerys Targaryen (TFM)

Daenerys Targaryen’s STR cannot be reduced by card effects.

Strangler

While attached character is participating in a challenge, set its STR to 1. (Other modifiers do not raise or lower its STR.)



#2
istaril

istaril

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1741 posts

Yes. I see no reason why not. Her STR is not being reduced (even though it is lower because of the card effect). We know Randyl doesn't stand when a burn effect expires, we know Randyl wouldn't stand off a strangler being discarded, etc


  • FedericoFasullo likes this

#3
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1442 posts
Randyll does not stand from a lasting or constant effect expiring because there is a rule on this in the RRD (Effects). This is not just because expiration of a debuff in not an increase.
 
I'd argue that Deny's ability prevents not only subtractive modifiers, but also halving modifiers, and set modifiers that would lower her STR afer all additive and doubling modifiers have been applied.

#4
colonialbob

colonialbob

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 34 posts
✓  Best Answer

Daenerys’s “cannot be reduced” ability applies to “set” modifiers that would reduce her STR. If she participated in a challenge while Strangler was attached to her, her STR would remain at 3.


[Danny Schaefer, 18.04.2018]