Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

[Ruling] Nagga's Ribs + Ward

- - - - -

Best Answer mplain , 05 June 2018 - 08:49 PM

Player A plays Ward, steals player B's character, then discards it to Marched to the Wall. Who can trigger their Nagga's Ribs, player A or player B?


Player A can trigger Nagga’s Ribs. As stated in the rule you cited, for the purposes of card abilities, the card is considered to have entered Player A’s discard pile. If Player A did trigger the ability, the final physical placement of the card would be in Player B’s dead pile because of the above rule.
 

Also, if I steal two of my opponent's characters and they're both killed at the same time (due to Valar Murghulis, also House of the Undying), who chooses the order in which they are placed in the dead pile? Since they are considered to enter my dead pile, should I arrange them? Or should their owner do it, as per RRG "Dead Pile"?


The owner of the cards chooses the order in which the cards are placed in the dead pile, per the RRG entry on “Dead Pile."

[Danny Schaefer, 05.06.2018] Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1412 posts

RRG "Ownership and Control"

If a card would enter an out of play area of a player who does not own the card, the card is placed in its owner's equivalent out of play area instead. (For all associated card ability and framework effect purposes, the card is considered to have entered that opponent's out of play area, and only the physical placement of the card is adjusted.)

Nagga's Ribs

Reaction: After a character is placed in your discard pile, move it to your dead pile.


Player A plays Ward, steals player B's character, then discards it to Marched to the Wall. Who can trigger their Nagga's Ribs, player A or player B?

Reading the RRG, it seems that the stolen character is considered to enter player A's discard pile, so player A can trigger Nagga's Ribs, even though that character is never physically placed into player A's discard pile. Is this correct? So basically there is no functional difference between "after a character you control is discarded" and "after a character is placed in your discard pile" in regard to "take control" effects, yes? Same question also applies to And Now My Watch Begins.

Also, if I steal two of my opponent's characters and they're both killed at the same time (due to Valar Murghulis, also House of the Undying), who chooses the order in which they are placed in the dead pile? Since they are considered to enter my dead pile, should I arrange them? Or should their owner do it, as per RRG "Dead Pile"?

#2
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1412 posts
✓  Best Answer

Player A plays Ward, steals player B's character, then discards it to Marched to the Wall. Who can trigger their Nagga's Ribs, player A or player B?


Player A can trigger Nagga’s Ribs. As stated in the rule you cited, for the purposes of card abilities, the card is considered to have entered Player A’s discard pile. If Player A did trigger the ability, the final physical placement of the card would be in Player B’s dead pile because of the above rule.
 

Also, if I steal two of my opponent's characters and they're both killed at the same time (due to Valar Murghulis, also House of the Undying), who chooses the order in which they are placed in the dead pile? Since they are considered to enter my dead pile, should I arrange them? Or should their owner do it, as per RRG "Dead Pile"?


The owner of the cards chooses the order in which the cards are placed in the dead pile, per the RRG entry on “Dead Pile."

[Danny Schaefer, 05.06.2018]