Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Secret objective and Entrenched Defense/Secret of Y4


Best Answer dbmeboy , 06 July 2018 - 02:23 AM

Full text of relevant cards:

Entrenched Defense - Reaction: After 1 of your other objectives is engaged, your opponent engages this objective instead. (Limit once per turn.)

 

Secret Objective - If you are the attacking player, you may choose an enemy objective that you have not engaged this phase. If you do, you are now engaged with the chosen objective instead.

 

Due to the limits of the English language (and poor wording in the original rule book), there have always been cases of somewhat ambiguous language when it comes to the difference between the state of being engaged and the action of engaging.  Luckily, it's been consistently ruled that "have [not] engaged" refers to at act of declaring an engagement.

 

Result in this case:

You have already declared an engagement against DLotS when Entrenched Defenses is declared and it is not a legal target to redirect back to DLotS when Secret Objective.

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1
jawbone

jawbone

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 129 posts

Secret Objective: If you are the attacking player, you may choose an enemy objective that you have not engaged this phase. If you do, you are now engaged with the chosen objective instead.

 

Entrenched Defense:  When 1 of your other objectives is engaged, your opponent engages this objective instead.

 

 

If I declare an engagement against DLOTS, say, and my opponent redirects my attack to ED am I considered to have engaged DLOTS?  Or can I redirect my attack back to DLOTS with Secret Objective? 



#2
blackhalo23

blackhalo23

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 140 posts

I believe you can.

 

While you have DECLARED an engagement against DLOTS (everyone hates that objective when it's "on") and you may not declare a second engagement on DLOTS, you have NOT ENGAGED the DLOTS objective as Entranced Defense was engaged instead (via it's Reaction).

 

Typically declaring an engagement results in engaging an objective but this scenario is one which does not follow that.

 

Secret Objective fate card checks for objectives which have been ENGAGED as opposed to objectives which have been DECLARED.  Therefore you can use Secret Objective to go after DLOTS.

 

Would love to have confirmation from an expert =)



#3
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3914 posts
I’ll try to look through and check for precedent later, but I think the wording on Secret Objective has been ruled to refer to declaring the engagement and you would not be able to Secret Objective back to DLotS.

#4
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3914 posts
✓  Best Answer

Full text of relevant cards:

Entrenched Defense - Reaction: After 1 of your other objectives is engaged, your opponent engages this objective instead. (Limit once per turn.)

 

Secret Objective - If you are the attacking player, you may choose an enemy objective that you have not engaged this phase. If you do, you are now engaged with the chosen objective instead.

 

Due to the limits of the English language (and poor wording in the original rule book), there have always been cases of somewhat ambiguous language when it comes to the difference between the state of being engaged and the action of engaging.  Luckily, it's been consistently ruled that "have [not] engaged" refers to at act of declaring an engagement.

 

Result in this case:

You have already declared an engagement against DLotS when Entrenched Defenses is declared and it is not a legal target to redirect back to DLotS when Secret Objective.



#5
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3914 posts

Things to note: If DS has Entrenched Defense on table, DLotS is "turned off," so there's that at least.

 

Also, in this set up you can actually manage to put 3 engagements against Entrenched Defense.  The first one has already been moved there.  Attack the 3rd objective and redirect it there with Secret Objective.  Then attack Entrenched directly (you haven't declared an engagement against it yet).