Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

[Ruling] Meereen

- - - - -

Best Answer mplain , 12 July 2018 - 06:08 AM

Shenanigans alert! Say, me and my opponent each have 5 cards in hand, and neither plays any cards during the challenges phase.

- I trigger Meereen, use Veteran Builder to stand it, and trigger it again. After the phase ends, how many cards do I have in hand? Does each activation of Meereen place cards into the same pile (out-of-play game area) under Meereen, or into separate piles, one *per activation*?


After the phase ends, you will have 0 cards in hand. Meereen’s delayed effect returns each card you placed under Meereen to your hand—there are not separate piles for each activation. If you start with 5 cards in hand and use Meereen’s action ability twice without playing any cards, you will end up with 8 cards under Meereen. However, using the action twice creates 2 delayed effects that trigger at the end of the phase. The first delayed effect will cause you to discard your hand and return all 8 cards under Meereen to your hand. The second delayed effect will cause you to discard your hand (the 8 cards you just returned from under Meereen), then return no cards to your hand (as there are no longer any cards under Meereen).

- I trigger Meereen, then my opponent takes control of it (via Dagmer Cleftjaw or Sea *****), stands it, and triggers it. After the phase ends, how many cards does each of us have in hand? Does each activation of Meereen place cards into the same pile under Meereen, or into separate piles, one *per player*?


If Meereen changes control during the phase and is activated by two different players, the piles do need to be kept separate for each player. This is because the delayed effect only returns cards “you” placed under Meereen, so you need to keep track of which cards were placed by which player.

[Danny Schaefer, 12.07.2018] Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1366 posts

Shenanigans alert! Say, me and my opponent each have 5 cards in hand, and neither plays any cards during the challenges phase.

- I trigger Meereen, use Veteran Builder to stand it, and trigger it again. After the phase ends, how many cards do I have in hand? Does each activation of Meereen place cards into the same pile (out-of-play game area) under Meereen, or into separate piles, one *per activation*?

- I trigger Meereen, then my opponent takes control of it (via Dagmer Cleftjaw or Sea *****), stands it, and triggers it. After the phase ends, how many cards does each of us have in hand? Does each activation of Meereen place cards into the same pile under Meereen, or into separate piles, one *per player*?
 

Meereen

Action: Kneel Meereen to place each card in your hand facedown under Meereen and draw 3 cards. At the end of the phase, or if Meereen leaves play, discard your hand and return each card you placed under Meereen to your hand.


#2
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1366 posts
✓  Best Answer

Shenanigans alert! Say, me and my opponent each have 5 cards in hand, and neither plays any cards during the challenges phase.

- I trigger Meereen, use Veteran Builder to stand it, and trigger it again. After the phase ends, how many cards do I have in hand? Does each activation of Meereen place cards into the same pile (out-of-play game area) under Meereen, or into separate piles, one *per activation*?


After the phase ends, you will have 0 cards in hand. Meereen’s delayed effect returns each card you placed under Meereen to your hand—there are not separate piles for each activation. If you start with 5 cards in hand and use Meereen’s action ability twice without playing any cards, you will end up with 8 cards under Meereen. However, using the action twice creates 2 delayed effects that trigger at the end of the phase. The first delayed effect will cause you to discard your hand and return all 8 cards under Meereen to your hand. The second delayed effect will cause you to discard your hand (the 8 cards you just returned from under Meereen), then return no cards to your hand (as there are no longer any cards under Meereen).

- I trigger Meereen, then my opponent takes control of it (via Dagmer Cleftjaw or Sea *****), stands it, and triggers it. After the phase ends, how many cards does each of us have in hand? Does each activation of Meereen place cards into the same pile under Meereen, or into separate piles, one *per player*?


If Meereen changes control during the phase and is activated by two different players, the piles do need to be kept separate for each player. This is because the delayed effect only returns cards “you” placed under Meereen, so you need to keep track of which cards were placed by which player.

[Danny Schaefer, 12.07.2018]