Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

[Ruling] Hizdahr zo Loraq

- - - - -

Best Answer mplain , 16 August 2018 - 08:05 AM

Does Hizdahr zo Loraq provide a discount for marshaling cards into shadows? Is "marshaling into shadows" a subset of "marshaling"?


Yes. Marshaling into shadows is considered to be marshaling a card, so Hizdahr’s discount applies.

Does Hizdahr zo Loraq provide a discount for playing an event out of shadows? Would that be considered as "bringing a card out of shadows"? Try as I might, i could not get a clear answer out of the rules for Shadows.


Yes. Playing an event is considered to be “bringing a card out of shadows."

[Danny Schaefer, 16.08.2018] Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1442 posts

Does Hizdahr zo Loraq provide a discount for marshaling cards into shadows? Is "marshaling into shadows" a subset of "marshaling"?

Does Hizdahr zo Loraq provide a discount for playing an event out of shadows? Would that be considered as "bringing a card out of shadows"? Try as I might, i could not get a clear answer out of the rules for Shadows.
 

Hizdahr zo Loraq

Action: Discard 1 card from your hand to reduce the cost of the next card you marshal, ambush, or bring out of shadows this phase by 3. (Limit once per phase.)


  • AnikaHatsag and MFinnerses like this

#2
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1442 posts
✓  Best Answer

Does Hizdahr zo Loraq provide a discount for marshaling cards into shadows? Is "marshaling into shadows" a subset of "marshaling"?


Yes. Marshaling into shadows is considered to be marshaling a card, so Hizdahr’s discount applies.

Does Hizdahr zo Loraq provide a discount for playing an event out of shadows? Would that be considered as "bringing a card out of shadows"? Try as I might, i could not get a clear answer out of the rules for Shadows.


Yes. Playing an event is considered to be “bringing a card out of shadows."

[Danny Schaefer, 16.08.2018]

#3
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1442 posts

Another follow-up to your ruling on Hizdahr zo Loraq: you said that his discount to "bring cards out of shadows' applies to playing events from shadows.

Do cards that provide discounts for playing events (Littlefinger's Meddling, Tourney Grounds, Fealty, etc.) apply to playing events from shadows?


Yes. Playing an event from shadows is considered to be playing an event.

[Danny Schaefer, 04.09.2018]