Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Question about Sacrificing


Best Answer Thaliak , 01 September 2018 - 05:53 PM

You can only trigger one Action at a time, but you can trigger as many Reactions as you'd like to a given triggering condition. So if you have a damaged The Killing Cold, an Icetromper, and The Executor in play, you have two ways to sacrifice units and trigger The Executor:
1. During an engagement, you can use the Icetromper's action to sacrifice the Icetromper provided there is an attacking non-Vehicle unit that you can remove from the engagement. This does not remove damage from The Killing Cold. However, the Executor's Reaction would trigger, allowing you to deal 1 damage to an enemy unit or objective.
2. You can use The Killing Cold's action to sacrifice the Icetromper and remove a damage from The Killing Cold. This would not allow you to remove an a non-vehicle from the engagement, but the Executor's Reaction would trigger.

In other words, The Killing Cold is a separate action that requires you to sacrifice a unit. Unlike The Executor's ability, it isn't a Reaction to a unit being sacrificed. So if you use an Action other than The Killing Cold to sacrifice a unit, you don't get any benefit from The Killing Cold.

As an aside, you can't use The Killing Cold's action unless a friendly Hoth objective has damage. Actions, Reactions and Interrupts can only be triggered if their effect (the part after "to", which in this case is "remove a damage from a friendly Hoth objective") can occur. You can't trigger an ability solely to pay its costs (the part before "to", which in this case is "sacrifice a unit you control").

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1
octorfunk

octorfunk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

If I have multiple cards in play (units/objectives) that have /Actions/Reactions triggered when a unit is sacrificed, can I trigger multiple actions with the sacrificing of a single unit, or can I only trigger a single reaction per unit sacrificed?

 

Ex: I have the Executor in play, which states that I can damage an enemy unit/objective when a unit is sacrificed.  I also have "The Killing Cold" objective, which states that I can sacrifice a unit to remove 1 damage from a Hoth objective.  I also have an "Ice Tromper" in play, which states that it can be sacrificed to remove an enemy unit from an engagement and then damage that unit.

 

So...  By sacrificing the Ice Tromper, how many of the following actions am I allowed to perform (in addition to the Ice Trompers own action):

- Remove 1 damage from a Hoth objective (per "The Killing Cold")

- Damage an enemy unit/objective (per "The Executor")

 

 

Here are the cards in question:

 

ffg_icetromper-the-desolation-of-hoth-40ffg_the-killing-cold-the-desolation-of-hffg_executor-escape-from-hoth-66-2.png



#2
Thaliak

Thaliak

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 352 posts
✓  Best Answer

You can only trigger one Action at a time, but you can trigger as many Reactions as you'd like to a given triggering condition. So if you have a damaged The Killing Cold, an Icetromper, and The Executor in play, you have two ways to sacrifice units and trigger The Executor:
1. During an engagement, you can use the Icetromper's action to sacrifice the Icetromper provided there is an attacking non-Vehicle unit that you can remove from the engagement. This does not remove damage from The Killing Cold. However, the Executor's Reaction would trigger, allowing you to deal 1 damage to an enemy unit or objective.
2. You can use The Killing Cold's action to sacrifice the Icetromper and remove a damage from The Killing Cold. This would not allow you to remove an a non-vehicle from the engagement, but the Executor's Reaction would trigger.

In other words, The Killing Cold is a separate action that requires you to sacrifice a unit. Unlike The Executor's ability, it isn't a Reaction to a unit being sacrificed. So if you use an Action other than The Killing Cold to sacrifice a unit, you don't get any benefit from The Killing Cold.

As an aside, you can't use The Killing Cold's action unless a friendly Hoth objective has damage. Actions, Reactions and Interrupts can only be triggered if their effect (the part after "to", which in this case is "remove a damage from a friendly Hoth objective") can occur. You can't trigger an ability solely to pay its costs (the part before "to", which in this case is "sacrifice a unit you control").



#3
octorfunk

octorfunk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Great, thanks for the quick reply!