Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

[Ruling] Ocean Road + marshaling into shadows

- - - - -

Best Answer mplain , 21 September 2018 - 08:45 PM

Does Ocean Road reduce the cost of marshaling any card into shadows?


No. A card being marshaled into shadows is considered to have no characteristics, including the characteristic of being “neutral” or “out-of-faction.”
 

RRG "Neutral" says: "Some cards are not affiliated with any faction; these cards are neutral. Any deck may include neutral cards."

So it seems that "neutral" means "not having any faction affiliation". So, any card without a defined faction affiliation (e.g. a facedown card) should by this definition be neutral, no? Please tell me if my interpretation of this rules entry is incorrect.


You are correct that in the absence of a faction affiliation, a card is by default considered neutral. However, being “neutral” is still considered an attribute/characteristic of a card, so a card that is explicitly defined as having no attributes/characteristics (such as a facedown card or a card being marshaled into shadows) is not considered to be “neutral.”

 

[Danny Schaefer, 21.09.2018]

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1438 posts

Does Ocean Road reduce the cost of marshaling any card into shadows?



#2
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1438 posts
✓  Best Answer

Does Ocean Road reduce the cost of marshaling any card into shadows?


No. A card being marshaled into shadows is considered to have no characteristics, including the characteristic of being “neutral” or “out-of-faction.”
 

RRG "Neutral" says: "Some cards are not affiliated with any faction; these cards are neutral. Any deck may include neutral cards."

So it seems that "neutral" means "not having any faction affiliation". So, any card without a defined faction affiliation (e.g. a facedown card) should by this definition be neutral, no? Please tell me if my interpretation of this rules entry is incorrect.


You are correct that in the absence of a faction affiliation, a card is by default considered neutral. However, being “neutral” is still considered an attribute/characteristic of a card, so a card that is explicitly defined as having no attributes/characteristics (such as a facedown card or a card being marshaled into shadows) is not considered to be “neutral.”

 

[Danny Schaefer, 21.09.2018]