Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

[Ruling] A Pinch of Powder + Raider from Pyke

- - - - -

Best Answer mplain , 11 October 2018 - 08:07 AM

A Pinch of Powder has a "-" cost, of which the shadow rules say: "Some cards with the shadow keyword have a "-" in place of their printed cost. Such a card cannot be marshaled or played from a player's hand, and may only be played by being brought out of shadows."

Can A Pinch of Powder be put into play using Ambush (0) (granted by Raider from Pyke), or via Pay the Iron Price?


Yes, A Pinch of Powder can be put into play using Ambush (0) granted by Raider from Pyke, or using Pay the Iron Price. While a card with a “—” cost cannot be marshaled or played, it may still be put into play.

[Danny Schaefer, 11.10.2018] Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1427 posts

A Pinch of Powder has a "-" cost, of which the shadow rules say: "Some cards with the shadow keyword have a "-" in place of their printed cost. Such a card cannot be marshaled or played from a player's hand, and may only be played by being brought out of shadows."

Can A Pinch of Powder be put into play using Ambush (0) (granted by Raider from Pyke), or via Pay the Iron Price?



#2
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1427 posts
✓  Best Answer

A Pinch of Powder has a "-" cost, of which the shadow rules say: "Some cards with the shadow keyword have a "-" in place of their printed cost. Such a card cannot be marshaled or played from a player's hand, and may only be played by being brought out of shadows."

Can A Pinch of Powder be put into play using Ambush (0) (granted by Raider from Pyke), or via Pay the Iron Price?


Yes, A Pinch of Powder can be put into play using Ambush (0) granted by Raider from Pyke, or using Pay the Iron Price. While a card with a “—” cost cannot be marshaled or played, it may still be put into play.

[Danny Schaefer, 11.10.2018]

#3
SerBronn

SerBronn

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts

So how does Trading with Qohor fit in here?
GT32_39.jpg

1. I guess a (-) attachment can not be traded for anything but another (-) attachment cause printed cost (-) != printed cost 0.
2. but can I trade another attachment with 0/1/2/3 gold attachment for the powder? is printed cost (-) < printed cost 2 for example or is (-) just out of scope?



#4
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1427 posts
Qohor does not work with "-" cards at all - and neither do Nighttime Marauders - because these cards do not use X in their wording.

One "-" card is not of equal or lower cost than another "-" card - they don't have costs, so there is nothing to compare.

X is different because there is a specific rule saying that if X is not defined, it is considered to be 0.