Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

[Ruling] Randyll Tarly / Highgarden Courtier

- - - - -

Best Answer mplain , 18 October 2018 - 08:23 PM

- Robert Baratheon in affected by Nightmares, blanking effect expires, Robert gets +X STR from his ability - can Highgarden Courtier be triggered?

- Randyll Tarly has Oathkeeper attached, but the sword is blanked by Brother's Robes. Blanking effect expires, Randyll gets +2 STR from Oathkeeper - can Randyll be triggered?


Yes, in both cases. In the first case, Robert Baratheon’s constant ability is increasing his STR, satisfying the condition of his STR being increased by a card effect. In the second case, Oathkeeper’s constant ability is increasing Randyll’s STR, also satisfying the condition of his STR being increased by a card effect.

The expiration of a lasting effect is not considered to be generating a game state change by a card effect. But in this case the expiration of the lasting effect is not directly causing the relevant game state change. Rather, the expiration of the lasting effect allows constant abilities to affect the game state again, and it is those constant abilities that are causing the relevant game state change.
 

If a character has two Wards attached (by different players), and the older Ward is blanked (by Brother's Robes), when the blanking effect expires, the older Ward will generate a new "take control" effect that will override the effect of newer Ward, correct?


Correct. The most recently applied “take control” effect applies, which in this case will be the effect of the Ward that has just regained its text box.

[Danny Schaefer, 18.10.2018] Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1442 posts

RR "Effects" says: "The expiration of a lasting effect (or the cessation of a constant ability) is not considered to be generating a game state change by a card effect."

So, when a -X STR lasting effect expires, a character's STR is not considered to be increasing by a card effect (relevant for Randyll Tarly and Highgarden Courtier).

What if the expiration of a text blanking effect leads to a constant ability activating and increasing a character's STR - would this count as an increase by a card effect?
For example:

- Robert Baratheon in affected by Nightmares, blanking effect expires, Robert gets +X STR from his ability - can Highgarden Courtier be triggered?

- Randyll Tarly has Oathkeeper attached, but the sword is blanked by Brother's Robes. Blanking effect expires, Randyll gets +2 STR from Oathkeeper - can Randyll be triggered?


On one hand the expiration of a blanking effect seems to conform to the letter of the rule in RR "Effects".
On the other hand I believe there is no direct cause-effect relation - the expiration of the blanking effect causes a constant ability to activate, and that constant ability causes an increase of STR - by a card effect. Is this correct?

Relevant question: If a character has two Wards attached (by different players), and the older Ward is blanked (by Brother's Robes), when the blanking effect expires, the older Ward will generate a new "take control" effect that will override the effect of newer Ward, correct?



#2
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1442 posts
✓  Best Answer

- Robert Baratheon in affected by Nightmares, blanking effect expires, Robert gets +X STR from his ability - can Highgarden Courtier be triggered?

- Randyll Tarly has Oathkeeper attached, but the sword is blanked by Brother's Robes. Blanking effect expires, Randyll gets +2 STR from Oathkeeper - can Randyll be triggered?


Yes, in both cases. In the first case, Robert Baratheon’s constant ability is increasing his STR, satisfying the condition of his STR being increased by a card effect. In the second case, Oathkeeper’s constant ability is increasing Randyll’s STR, also satisfying the condition of his STR being increased by a card effect.

The expiration of a lasting effect is not considered to be generating a game state change by a card effect. But in this case the expiration of the lasting effect is not directly causing the relevant game state change. Rather, the expiration of the lasting effect allows constant abilities to affect the game state again, and it is those constant abilities that are causing the relevant game state change.
 

If a character has two Wards attached (by different players), and the older Ward is blanked (by Brother's Robes), when the blanking effect expires, the older Ward will generate a new "take control" effect that will override the effect of newer Ward, correct?


Correct. The most recently applied “take control” effect applies, which in this case will be the effect of the Ward that has just regained its text box.

[Danny Schaefer, 18.10.2018]