Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

[Ruling] The Inn at the Crossroads

- - - - -

Best Answer mplain , 18 October 2018 - 08:30 PM

Can I trigger The Inn at the Crossroads, draw 3 cards, choose an opponent that already controls another copy of The Inn, and fail to give control? Even if there is another opponent (in melee) that does not control a copy?

It is my understanding that the effects "draw 3 cards" and "give control" are not dependent on one another, so I can trigger the ability and do as much of the effects as possible. Also, it seems an opponent that already controls a copy of The Inn is still an ineligible target, because there is no rule that would say otherwise, correct?


Yes, this works. Any opponent is an eligible target for The Inn at the Crossroads’ ability. If that opponent is unable to take control of The Inn, the ability will still do as much as it can—you will draw 3 cards and The Inn will remain under your control.

[Danny Schaefer, 18.10.2018] Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1440 posts

Can I trigger The Inn at the Crossroads, draw 3 cards, choose an opponent that already controls another copy of The Inn, and fail to give control? Even if there is another opponent (in melee) that does not control a copy?

It is my understanding that the effects "draw 3 cards" and "give control" are not dependent on one another, so I can trigger the ability and do as much of the effects as possible. Also, it seems an opponent that already controls a copy of The Inn is still an ineligible target, because there is no rule that would say otherwise, correct?



#2
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1440 posts
✓  Best Answer

Can I trigger The Inn at the Crossroads, draw 3 cards, choose an opponent that already controls another copy of The Inn, and fail to give control? Even if there is another opponent (in melee) that does not control a copy?

It is my understanding that the effects "draw 3 cards" and "give control" are not dependent on one another, so I can trigger the ability and do as much of the effects as possible. Also, it seems an opponent that already controls a copy of The Inn is still an ineligible target, because there is no rule that would say otherwise, correct?


Yes, this works. Any opponent is an eligible target for The Inn at the Crossroads’ ability. If that opponent is unable to take control of The Inn, the ability will still do as much as it can—you will draw 3 cards and The Inn will remain under your control.

[Danny Schaefer, 18.10.2018]