Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

[Ruling] Blessed by the Maiden + Brother's Robes + Ward

- - - - -

Best Answer mplain , 27 October 2018 - 07:12 AM

A character has Blessed by the Maiden attached. The opponent uses Brother's Robes to blank Blessed, and attaches Ward to the character.
At the end of the phase, the balnking effect expires. The character now has two attachments, each making the other one illegally attached:
- Ward makes Blessed illegally attached because it is attached to a character that Blessed's controller does not control.
- Blessed makes Ward illegally attached because it is attached to a character with "No attachments except Blessed".


Both attachments are illegally attached and are simultaneously discarded. There is no “order” in which the constant abilities apply — they become active immediately and are all used when determining whether an attachment is illegally attached. Since multiple attachments are attached illegally, they are all discarded simultaneously; there is not a point in time where one attachment is discarded, allowing the other to stay attached.
 

To make things even more complicates, lets consider this scenario:
A character has Blessed by the Maiden, blanked, and Ward, also blanked. At the end of the phase both balnking effects expire, and each attachment attempts to affect the game state in a way that makes the other illegally attached. Do both get discarded, or...?


Again, both attachments will be discarded simultaneously. The constant abilities on Ward and Blessed become active simultaneously, creating the same situation as above: both are illegally attached, and both are discarded.

[Danny Schaefer, 27.10.2018]

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1440 posts

A character has Blessed by the Maiden attached. The opponent uses Brother's Robes to blank Blessed, and attaches Ward to the character.
At the end of the phase, the balnking effect expires. The character now has two attachments, each making the other one illegally attached:
- Ward makes Blessed illegally attached because it is attached to a character that Blessed's controller does not control.
- Blessed makes Ward illegally attached because it is attached to a character with "No attachments except Blessed".

Do both attachments get discarded because they're both illegally attached?
Or does the first player decide which one to discard?
Or does only Blessed get discarded, because once the blanking effect expires, it is discarded before its ability starts affecting the game state?

RR "Attachment Cards" says: "If a situation arises in which an attachment is not legally attached, discard the attachment."
What is not clear from this line is whether there is a moment in time at which the attachment is in play, affecting the game change by its ability, being illegally attached?
I can see two possible sequences here:
1) One moment Blessed's text is blanked - the next moment it has its text, its ability is active - the next moment it is discarded because it's ilegally attached
2) One moment Blessed's text is blanked - the next moment it is discarded because it's ilegally attached
Which one is correct? Once we know "Character you control only" does not check out, do we even process the rest of the card's text box?


To make things even more complicates, lets consider this scenario:
A character has Blessed by the Maiden, blanked, and Ward, also blanked. At the end of the phase both balnking effects expire, and each attachment attempts to affect the game state in a way that makes the other illegally attached. Do both get discarded, or...?



#2
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1440 posts
✓  Best Answer

A character has Blessed by the Maiden attached. The opponent uses Brother's Robes to blank Blessed, and attaches Ward to the character.
At the end of the phase, the balnking effect expires. The character now has two attachments, each making the other one illegally attached:
- Ward makes Blessed illegally attached because it is attached to a character that Blessed's controller does not control.
- Blessed makes Ward illegally attached because it is attached to a character with "No attachments except Blessed".


Both attachments are illegally attached and are simultaneously discarded. There is no “order” in which the constant abilities apply — they become active immediately and are all used when determining whether an attachment is illegally attached. Since multiple attachments are attached illegally, they are all discarded simultaneously; there is not a point in time where one attachment is discarded, allowing the other to stay attached.
 

To make things even more complicates, lets consider this scenario:
A character has Blessed by the Maiden, blanked, and Ward, also blanked. At the end of the phase both balnking effects expire, and each attachment attempts to affect the game state in a way that makes the other illegally attached. Do both get discarded, or...?


Again, both attachments will be discarded simultaneously. The constant abilities on Ward and Blessed become active simultaneously, creating the same situation as above: both are illegally attached, and both are discarded.

[Danny Schaefer, 27.10.2018]