Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

[Ruling] Skagos

- - - - -

Best Answer mplain , 31 October 2018 - 10:03 AM

It's stated that costs happens simultaneously and not sequentially, and we all assumed so far that Kingsroad can work. But how about Skagos? Can I kneel and sacrifice Skagos? Since Kingsroad can be both kneel and sacrificed at the same time, can Skagos do that thing too?
I know it requires a standing card, but there should be no check during the execution but only before. Am I missing something?


No, that doesn’t work for Skagos. The cost requires a standing card to be sacrificed. Although Skagos is standing before costs are paid, when you kneel it to pay the other part of the cost it no longer satisfies the condition of being a “standing [Stark] card.” (This is different from the Kingsroad because the Kingsroad can successfully satisfy both conditions—kneeling and being sacrificed—since the Kingsroad is not required to be standing when it’s sacrificed.)

[Danny Schaefer, 31.10.2018] Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1440 posts

Kingsroad
Kneel and sacrifice The Kingsroad to reduce the cost of the next character you marshal this phase by 3.

Skagos
Kneel Skagos and sacrifice a standing [Stark] card to search...


It's stated that costs happens simultaneously and not sequentially, and we all assumed so far that Kingsroad can work. But how about Skagos? Can I kneel and sacrifice Skagos? Since Kingsroad can be both kneel and sacrificed at the same time, can Skagos do that thing too?
I know it requires a standing card, but there should be no check during the execution but only before. Am I missing something?


  • AbercromSuh likes this

#2
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1440 posts
✓  Best Answer

It's stated that costs happens simultaneously and not sequentially, and we all assumed so far that Kingsroad can work. But how about Skagos? Can I kneel and sacrifice Skagos? Since Kingsroad can be both kneel and sacrificed at the same time, can Skagos do that thing too?
I know it requires a standing card, but there should be no check during the execution but only before. Am I missing something?


No, that doesn’t work for Skagos. The cost requires a standing card to be sacrificed. Although Skagos is standing before costs are paid, when you kneel it to pay the other part of the cost it no longer satisfies the condition of being a “standing [Stark] card.” (This is different from the Kingsroad because the Kingsroad can successfully satisfy both conditions—kneeling and being sacrificed—since the Kingsroad is not required to be standing when it’s sacrificed.)

[Danny Schaefer, 31.10.2018]