Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

[Ruling] Scouting Vessel

- - - - -

Best Answer mplain , 19 December 2018 - 10:43 PM

1) After Scouting Vessel is used, can Euron Crow's Eye be triggered 3 times?


Yes. Euron has discarded 3 cards for pillage, allowing you to trigger the reaction 3 times.

2) After Scouting Vessel is used and discards 3 characters, can Ser Gregor Clegane or Corpse Lake be triggered 3 times?


Yes. If 3 characters are discarded, those abilities can be triggered 3 times.

3) After Scouting Vessel is used, can Tywin Lannister (LoCR) be triggered to override the the Vessel's effect?


No. After Scouting Vessel is used, the triggering condition of “exactly 1 card” being discarded from a deck is no longer imminent, so Tywin cannot be triggered.

[Danny Schaefer, 20.12.2018] Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1440 posts

Scouting Vessel

Interrupt: When a character you control discard a card using pillage, kneel and sacrifice Scouting Vessel to discard 3 cards instead.


1) After Scouting Vessel is used, can Euron Crow's Eye be triggered 3 times?

2) After Scouting Vessel is used and discards 3 characters, can Ser Gregor Clegane or Corpse Lake be triggered 3 times?

3) After Scouting Vessel is used, can Tywin Lannister (LoCR) be triggered to override the the Vessel's effect?


RR "Replacement Effects" says: "the [original] triggering condition is still considered to occur."

We're somewhat confused by this entry, some are arguing that you're still considered to only discard 1 card using, so Euron can trigger only once.
Personally I think that this RR entry was written in regard to replacement effects of the type "when X happens, do X instead of Z" (e.g. Benjen Stark, Ser Davos Seaworth), while we're dealing here with another type "when X happens, do Y instead (of X)".


  • Horazeblofe likes this

#2
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1440 posts
✓  Best Answer

1) After Scouting Vessel is used, can Euron Crow's Eye be triggered 3 times?


Yes. Euron has discarded 3 cards for pillage, allowing you to trigger the reaction 3 times.

2) After Scouting Vessel is used and discards 3 characters, can Ser Gregor Clegane or Corpse Lake be triggered 3 times?


Yes. If 3 characters are discarded, those abilities can be triggered 3 times.

3) After Scouting Vessel is used, can Tywin Lannister (LoCR) be triggered to override the the Vessel's effect?


No. After Scouting Vessel is used, the triggering condition of “exactly 1 card” being discarded from a deck is no longer imminent, so Tywin cannot be triggered.

[Danny Schaefer, 20.12.2018]

#3
colonialbob

colonialbob

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 34 posts
Additional question:

Can I chain multiple Scouting Vessel triggers together to discard 5 or 7 cards from a single pillage?

#4
colonialbob

colonialbob

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 34 posts

Can I chain multiple Scouting Vessel triggers together to discard 5 or 7 cards from a single pillage?


If you have two Scouting Vessels, you can use the first to cause 3 cards to be discarded, then use a second Scouting Vessel to replace the discard on one of those 3 cards, for a total of 5 cards discarded.

[Danny Schaefer, 20.12.2018]

#5
jamessen

jamessen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Yea, 

 

Scouting vessels  are the one that can be triggered easily.