Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

[Ruling] Triggering card abilities during setup

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1
Movac

Movac

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 32 posts

If Pentos and Oldtown Scholar are setup, during step 10 of the setup where the players draw cards until each player has 7 cards, can the players trigger cards based on their respective triggering conditions. Ex: Can a player trigger Oldtown scholar trigger it's reaction to draw as many cards as the controller's opponent drew to get back to 7 cards in hand? Can Pentos trigger it's reaction if there is an attachment among the cards being drawn? If yes, can the player then trigger the Valyrian Steel agenda? If the attachment that was put into play was Crown of Gold which kills a Lord character, can the player then trigger Funeral Pyre?


  • ThompsD and FrankSpoda like this

#2
Movac

Movac

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 32 posts

Hello,

 

After discussing this with Nate, we’re in agreement that such abilities do not trigger during setup, as setup occurs before the game actually begins. The only effects that are able to trigger during setup are those that explicitly reference a setup timing point, such as “after all agendas are announced.”

 

Thanks!

Danny Schaefer
Card Game Developer
Fantasy Flight Games

dschaefer@fantasyflightgames.com