If Pentos and Oldtown Scholar are setup, during step 10 of the setup where the players draw cards until each player has 7 cards, can the players trigger cards based on their respective triggering conditions. Ex: Can a player trigger Oldtown scholar trigger it's reaction to draw as many cards as the controller's opponent drew to get back to 7 cards in hand? Can Pentos trigger it's reaction if there is an attachment among the cards being drawn? If yes, can the player then trigger the Valyrian Steel agenda? If the attachment that was put into play was Crown of Gold which kills a Lord character, can the player then trigger Funeral Pyre?
Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

[Ruling] Triggering card abilities during setup
Started by
Movac
, Nov 18 2019 10:24 PM
#1
Posted 18 November 2019 - 10:24 PM

#2
Posted 18 November 2019 - 10:24 PM

Hello,
After discussing this with Nate, we’re in agreement that such abilities do not trigger during setup, as setup occurs before the game actually begins. The only effects that are able to trigger during setup are those that explicitly reference a setup timing point, such as “after all agendas are announced.â€
- Davidrem and Chinadathy like this