- The entire contents of each player's discard pile, including the order
- The entire contents of each player's hand and deck, including the order of the deck (if we think that "shuffle your hand into your deck, then draw that many cards" generally has the potential to change the game state)
- The location, ready-vs-exhausted status, card type, traits, face-up-vs-face-down status, text boxes, abilities, number of instances of each keyword, amounts associated with each keyword that has an associated amount, faction affiliations, number of red/blue/green planet symbols, ATK, HP, cost, number of command icons, which card it is attached to, and amount of tokens of each kind (damage, infestation, etc.) for each card in play
- The entire contents of each player's victory display
- Which player has the initiative
- The amount of resources possessed by each player
- How much of each limit or maximum each player has used (though generally the effect-part of effects won't change this)
- Which cards are revealed vs not revealed (this is apparently required if we want Urien's Oubliette's constant effect to work, although it is unclear whether this rule applies to constant effects)
- Which processes (round, phase, step in phase, attack, dealing damage, resolving an effect, deploying a card, etc.) are in progress, and which stages they are in, and which events are known to be upcoming in those processes (I think this one is necessary if we want effects like those on Backlash and Herald of the WAAAGH! to generally be allowed to be played)
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
What does it mean to change the game state?
Posted 06 September 2020 - 11:40 AM
Posted 06 September 2020 - 11:52 AM
- Exhaust your warlord to ready each unit you control with 1 or more attachments.
Ready each unit you control with 1 or more attachments.
The second thing will definitely change the game state: Aun'shi will be exhausted before, and ready after. For the first thing, does exhausting a thing and then readying it change the game state? Or in general, does a sequence of changes to the game state that cancel each other out change the game state?
Posted 08 September 2020 - 10:29 AM
In the spirit of trolling slightly less, I'll try to answer my question about For the Tau'va, since it seems to be answered in the FAQ, but if anyone can confirm I would still appreciate it.
The FAQ says:
"(3.4) Initiation of Card Abilities In order to trigger a card ability, the possibility that at least some aspect of that card ability’s effect might successfully resolve must exist. (In other words, card abilities cannot be initiated just to pay the cost.) If, given the current game state, it is impossible for at least one aspect of the effect to resolve, the ability cannot be triggered. This check is made during step one of Initiating Abilities (see pages 8-9 of the Rules Reference Guide), when all play restrictions are checked."
This seems to be the "no time travel" rule from L5R, so it seems like we really should ask ourselves while every unit we have with an attachment is ready, "Would readying all my units with attachments change the game state?" Since they are all ready already, it would not, so we cannot play For the Tau'va.
Again, I would appreciate confirmation, because I am only like 90% sure about this one.
My questions about which sorts of gaining private information are and are not changes to the game state remain open.