Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Paying costs of 0 with Sae'lum Enclave or Valkyris Pattern Jump Pack


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1
sharpobject

sharpobject

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

Hello,

 

On the comments of Clogged with Corpses, we learned that costs of 0 cannot be paid: http://www.cardgamed...omment_id=50766

 

We also learned that cards with cost 0 actually mean "this card has no cost" rather than "there is a cost and it is 0."

 

If I use Sae'lum Enclave which reads "Interrupt: When you deploy a non-Tau unit, exhaust this support to reduce that unit's cost by 2." to reduce the cost of 10th Company Scout to 0, am I allowed to pay the 0, or am I not allowed to pay the 0, or does reducing 1 to 0 in this way somehow remove the cost rather than reducing it?

 

If I have a Valkyris Pattern Jump Pack in reserve at a planet, which reads "Deep Strike (0). (Deploy this card facedown for 1 resource. When a battle begins, you may pay this card's Deep Strike value to turn it faceup.)", does that actually mean there's no cost, or that I must pay 0, in which case I could not deep strike it?

 

If the card has no cost to deep strike it, does that mean I can still deep strike it without paying any cost if my opponent has a Catachan Tracker at the planet, which reads "Increase the Deep Strike value of each card your opponent controls at this planet by 2."?



#2
tdnordine

tdnordine

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 364 posts

Anything that has a "0" cost, whether that be printed on a card, or through reductions has "no cost" to play, therefore, yes you can play the 10th Company scout for 'No Cost'.

 

Deep Strike is different in that you are paying a value, not a cost, so it bypasses the previous "cost" gymnastics.



#3
sharpobject

sharpobject

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts
The Unforgiven rules insert refers to the thing you pay to deep strike things as a cost: https://site-425846..../DS.jpg?2008710
 
The templating on the reminder text on Valkyris Pattern Jump Pack also says "pay X to do Y" which generally means X is a cost (RRG page 5), like how For the Tau'va has exhausting your warlord as part of the cost (this matters if for example someone plays Nullify on your For the Tau'va that was about to ready your warlord. In that case, you will exhaust your warlord and then not ready it).
 
With all this in mind, I'm not sure how to properly apply the rule about costs needing to change the game state, unless I interpret it like this: "Costs of 0 resources can be paid. Costs denominated in other things must be at least 1." Which is a big stretch.
 
 
 
 
You can skip the below lines which just list card text for cards mentioned in the post:
For the Tau’va: Action: Exhaust your warlord to ready each unit you control with 1 or more attachments.
Nullify: Interrupt: When your opponent plays an event card, exhaust a unique [ELDAR] unit to cancel its effects.