Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Urien + Raid interaction


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1
sharpobject

sharpobject

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

I have a hale Urien Rakarth, who reads in part "The cost for you to play each non-Torture event is increased by 1." I want to play Raid, which is a non-Torture event that has printed cost 0 and reads "Limited. (Limit one Limited card per round.) Action: Take 1[RESOURCE] from your opponent if he has more resources than you." I have 4 resources and my opponent has 4 resources. If I were to actually play Raid, I would pay 1 resource, then my opponent would have more resources than me, and I would take 1 resource from my opponent. However, the RRG says:

"When a player wishes to deploy or play a card, or initiate a triggered ability, he first declares his intent. The following steps are then observed, in order:

1. Check play restrictions: can the card be deployed or played, or the ability initiated, at this time?

2. Determine the cost (or costs, if multiple costs are required) to deploy/play the card or initiate the ability.

3. Apply any modifiers to the cost(s).

4. Pay the cost(s).

5. Choose target(s), if applicable.

6. The card is deployed/played, or the ability resolves."

 

It looks like I must check whether it's legal to play the card before paying its cost. When I perform that check, do I imagine running the card while both players have 4 resources, in which case it would do nothing? Am I therefor unable to play Raid under these circumstances?


  • Jamestrunk likes this

#2
sharpobject

sharpobject

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

In the spirit of trolling slightly less, I'll try to answer this one, since it seems to be answered in the FAQ, but if anyone can confirm I would still appreciate it.

 

The FAQ says:
"(3.4) Initiation of Card Abilities In order to trigger a card ability, the possibility that at least some aspect of that card ability’s effect might successfully resolve must exist. (In other words, card abilities cannot be initiated just to pay the cost.) If, given the current game state, it is impossible for at least one aspect of the effect to resolve, the ability cannot be triggered. This check is made during step one of Initiating Abilities (see pages 8-9 of the Rules Reference Guide), when all play restrictions are checked."

 

This seems to be the "no time travel" rule from L5R, so it seems like we really should evaluate whether Raid would have any effect if it was resolved before the cost is paid. Since it would have no effect if both players had 4 resources as the effect resolved, we cannot play the card when both players have 4 resources.

 

Again, I would appreciate confirmation, because I am only like 90% sure about this one.