Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Hoth Luke and Profundity


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1
MacRauri

MacRauri

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 341 posts

How does Hoth Pilot Luke work with Profundity?

If he's attached to a Fighter as an enhancement and that Fighter gets attached to the Profundity, does Luke stay on it, or does he jump out as a unit?

 

Luke Skywalker (64)

You may play this card on a friendly Speeder or Fighter unit as an enhancement with the text: "Enhanced unit gains UT.  If enhanced unit leaves play, put this card into play as a unit."

 

Profundity

Action: Focus a friendly Fighter or Transport unit to attach it to this unit as an enhancement with the text: "Action: Focus this enhancement to remove 1 token (any type) from enhanced unit."

 

Action: Unattach a Fighter or Transport enhancement from this unit.  Turn that enhancement into a unit.



#2
Gamer257

Gamer257

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 285 posts

I would think that Luke stays on the Vehicle unit, as that unit has not left play.  Even when the vehicle unit becomes an enhancement, it is still in play, right?  Luke is literally just along for the ride at that point until the vehicle unit unattaches from the Profundity and becomes a vehicle unit again.  That's my $0.02 anyway.



#3
Letux

Letux

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1626 posts
He stays on since it never stops being a vehicle and is still in play.
The only one I'm not sure in is if the IG money can stop him from hopping out

#4
MacRauri

MacRauri

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 341 posts
Both Hoth Luke and Bounty Listing use the “put into play” verbiage, so I assume DS could capture him.

#5
Letux

Letux

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1626 posts
Yeah I guess he visits the discard pile for a second with his weird passive text. Were here made now, it would be an interrupt and he'd have never left play

#6
IAmBatman

IAmBatman

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 202 posts

It stops being a fighter or transport unit though, right? Maybe that final FAQ answered it when it changed the wording on things to fix Tarkin, but if it stops being attached to something eligible, doesn't it fall off? Since the card attached to Profundity is considered an enhancement at that point, and not a unit, I would think he or any other pilot falls off, but i definitely could be wrong.



#7
Letux

Letux

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1626 posts
Yeah he gets saved by the Tarkin ruling I think.

#8
CoDameron

CoDameron

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 213 posts

Hmm. An interesting convo I had with Tyler (and possibly with Eric) back in 2016 determined that although luke is put into play, it is not a new instance of luke. He never hits the discard. This is relevant because you can unfinished luke into play, and if he stays as a pilot, he doesnt leave at the end of the phase. BUT if he lands on foot, then he DOES leave at the end of the phase. 

Put into play, but not a new instance of Luke



#9
Letux

Letux

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1626 posts
I don't see what those two things have to do with each other. Really Luke should have had interrupt text matching the pilot boba event