Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Hand of the Emperor and Shielding


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1
sirivanhoe2

sirivanhoe2

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

med_SWC17_149-5.jpg

 

My question is - does shielding happen before 'Hand of the Emperor'?

 

Shielding says:- 'When a card with the “Shielding” keyword is declared

as either attacker or defender, its controller may
immediately place one shield token on any friendly
unshielded participating unit'. 

 

Hand of the Emperor is a reaction.

 

As shielding isn't an action. Should it be treated as a reaction to a triggering condition(being declared as an attacker or defender)? Looking at the rulebook, because it uses the word 'when' it could be considered an interupt.

In either case, looking at the rule book the active player would go first. 

'The active player has the opportunity to resolve the
first reaction to a triggering condition, followed by his
opponent'.

 

I've looked for any timing references for shielding but it seems to be covered by the rulebook.
 



#2
sdrewthomson

sdrewthomson

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 621 posts

"When" happens before "after". Shielding goes on first, and it doesn't matter if they are defending or attacking.


  • TheNameWasTaken likes this

#3
sirivanhoe2

sirivanhoe2

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

"When" happens before "after". Shielding goes on first, and it doesn't matter if they are defending or attacking.

 

Great. Thanks for the quick reply.