Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Official Rule Clarifications !!Direct replies FFG only!!


  • Please log in to reply
254 replies to this topic

#221
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3901 posts

Q:

Is a card considered to share an objective set number with itself?

 

A:

 

Yes.

--
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer
Fantasy Flight Games


#222
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3901 posts

Q:

When using the Ithorian Junk Dealer, do you need to meet the resource match requirements when paying the cost of an enhancement from your discard pile?

 

 

A:

Paying the printed cost of something does not include needing to make resource matches. Simply pay the appropriate amount of resources. “Playing” cards requires a resource match but the Action on the Ithorian Junk Dealer is not to play the card, so no match is required.
 

--
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer
Fantasy Flight Games


#223
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3901 posts

Q:

What qualifies as "using" a card as if it were in your hand as per Hidden Grove? Is this the same, or different than how the common reserve works in 2v2?

 

A:

“Using” a card in your hand would be playing that card, placing that card into an edge stack, or triggering an Action, Reaction, or Interrupt *on that card* as if it was in your hand. For the purposes of other card abilities that interact with a players hand of cards, that card is not in your hand: it is on Hidden Grove (or in the common reserve). Therefore, if a card said “discard your hand” the card on Hidden Grove would not be discarded. Likewise, if the Millennium Falcon (0332) uses its Action to return to hand, a Character or Droid unit on Hidden Grove (or in the common reserve) would not be eligible to be put into play.

--
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer
Fantasy Flight Games


#224
Caal

Caal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 608 posts
Q :
Can Hoth Han Interrupt's initiate at the end of an engagement where a unit piloted by Vader is participating when it has been put into play by a Commando Raid discarded Rebel's Hope before defenders declaration?

A :
“At the end of the engagement” is a timing point denoting when an engagement has ended. Things that happen “at the end of the/an engagement” happen when the engagement has already ended.

In this case, as the engagement has ended, Vader’s pilot text no longer applies, and this is the same time as Han leaves play due to The Rebel’s Hope. Thus, you are able to trigger Han’s Interrupt to him leaving play at this time.

--
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer
Fantasy Flight Games

#225
Shiney1

Shiney1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

What happens to the enhancements on a character exchanged with the Heroes and Legends objective?



#226
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3901 posts

Not sure why I didn't post this earlier:

 

Q:

What is the timing of Ahsoka's Informant?

 

A:

The ability on Ahsoka’s Informant is an Interrupt. Interrupts trigger when their triggering condition has initiated, but before it has resolved. (This is opposed to Reactions, which trigger after their triggering condition has finished resolving.)

Therefore, the timing of the Informant’s ability breaks down like:

-Both players pass consecutively on placing cards in their edge stacks.
-The process of revealing edge stacks initiates, but the resolution of that revelation is Interrupted
-The Informant’s ability goes off now, before the edge stacks have been revealed; allowing you to place a Jedi card into your edge stack
-Now that the Informant’s ability has resolved, you resume the resolution of the triggering condition; in this case, revealing edge stacks. Now, both edge stacks are revealed.


“Reveal edge stacks” refers to the framework event shown on page 31 that uses the text: “Reveal edge stacks, resolve fate cards, and resolve edge battle.”


This framework event happens regardless of whether or not either player has cards in their edge stack. The Informant’s ability Interrupts the resolution of this framework event.


If neither edge stack has any cards, then edge *cards* will not be successfully revealed; but revealing edge stacks is a framework event that does always happen.


--
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer
Fantasy Flight Games



#227
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3901 posts

From the FFG forums, in response to a question about Inquisitor + Lightsaber vs Shien Training:

 

On page 10 of the FAQ, you’ll see the “Damage and Timing Resolution” process. The first step of that process is to “assign damage.”
 
Shien Training Interrupts the start of this process to choose a new target to assign damage to. This is a reassignment of the damage to whatever that new target is; as such, if that damage if coming from The Inquisitor enhanced with The Inquisitor’s Lightsaber, you won’t be able to use Shien training.

--
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer
Fantasy Flight Games


#228
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3901 posts
Q:
How does Oppositions Chewie to niter act with Signal Scrambler:

A:
These are two competing replacement effects. Each effect changes how the Force struggle is calculated. As they both attempt to replace the same thing, the active player will decide which order they take place in. As such, the active player will decide which of the two replacement effects is used for that turn.

--
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer
Fantasy Flight Games

#229
chiller087

chiller087

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 836 posts
Q:
If an objective is targeted by Unrefusable Offer, and then that objective leaves play before the LS could engage it, what happens?

A:
Hi Micah,

Unrefusable Offer sets up a delayed effect on the targeted objective. If that objective leaves play, that delayed effect expires at that time as well. So, if you remove your own targeted objective, the LS player would not suffer the consequences of Unrefusable Offer at the end of the phase.

--
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
  • Boreas and yodaman like this

#230
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3901 posts

Q:

Can Galactic Ambitions Leia "switch" an undamaged Mission with an objective, resulting in 4 objectives in play and the mission discarded?

 

A:

 

No.
 
In order to “switch” two things, they must be able to actually switch. Since neither missions nor DS cards can actually go into the LS player’s objective deck, you would not be able to switch a DS mission controlled by the LS player with a Rebel Alliance objective in the LS player’s objective deck.

--
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer
Fantasy Flight Games


#231
CataractCowboy

CataractCowboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 302 posts

Hi Stephen,

 
 

 Rules Question:
Icetromper: sacrifice this unit to remove an attacking non-vehicle unit from an engagement. Then, deal 1 damage to that unit Feeding Frenzy: After a creature unit damages an enemy character or creature unit, destroy that unit. If a player uses the icetromper's action to remove and then damage a unit, can feeding frenzy destroy that unit

Yes.
 
--
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer
Fantasy Flight Games

 

  • yodaman likes this

#232
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3901 posts

Q:

Admiral Piett with complex fate cards (ie cards that have a cost or condition).

 

A:

 

Admiral Piett’s ability resolves the effect(s) of fate cards attached to him.
 
For the DS Ancient Rivals, the effect is: “…discard a target [JEDI] card or neutral non-fate card from your opponent’s edge stack.” When you reach priority 4, you would resolve only the effect, as Piett’s ability tells you to. (i.e. you do not need to pay the cost of discarding Ancient Rivals from your edge stack).
 
For The Prince’s Scheme, the effect is: “…take 1 non-fate card from your opponent’s edge stack and place it in your edge stack for this edge battle.”
 
For I Have You Now, the effect is: “…destroy a target participating enemy unit.”
 

In all of these cases, Admiral Piett’s ability resolve the effect of the fate card (as seen above) at the appropriate priority number.

 
--
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer
Fantasy Flight Games


#233
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3901 posts

Q:

If I play Undercover from my discard pile with Resourceful Survivors, does Undercover end up captured or removed from the game?

 

A:

 

Resourceful Survivors instructs you to play a Rebel event card from your discard pile. Part of playing an event is resolving the effects of that event (provided you can pay all costs and meet all targeting requirements). Part of the effect of Undercover is: “Then, place this card at an enemy objective as a captured card.” When this part of the effect of Undercover resolves, Undercover becomes a facedown captured card. Because of this, it is no longer “that event card” as referenced in Resourceful Survivors: “Then, remove that event card from the game” (it is only “a captured card”).
 
Therefore, after playing Undercover from your discard pile with Resourceful Survivors, Undercover will end up as a captured card at an enemy objective.
 
--
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer
Fantasy Flight Games

  • kiramode likes this

#234
Thaliak

Thaliak

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 378 posts

Q:

There are several cards that force the opponent to damage or place a focus token on a unit he controls rather than instructing the controlling player to perform that action. Examples include Log Trap, Heavy Blaster Emplacement, Dark Lord of the Sith, A Dark Time for the Rebellion, and Stygeon Prison Guard. Would I be correct in assuming these cards allow the affected player to choose where the focus or damage goes? In other words, if I'm attacking with Darth Vader and Emperor Palpatine and the Light Side focuses Log Trap, do I get to choose which of the two archvillains got outsmarted by ewoks?

 

A:

The effects you mention instruct the opposing player to choose where the damage/focus/whatever goes. So, in your example of Log Trap, the LS player uses Log Trap’s action, the DS player chooses which unit it will affect.
 
It is important to note, however, that this is still an LS card effect (even if the DS player is making choices about what it affects); as such, the DS player could still use things like shields to prevent that focus or damage from being placed.
 
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer
Fantasy Flight Games


#235
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3901 posts

Q:

Is there any difference in timing between "after an objective is destroyed" and "after a mission is completed"?

 

A:

 

Part of the process of the destruction of an objective is that objective being placed in the appropriate player’s victory pile. This is also when you can tell if a mission is completed. Thus “After an objective is destroyed” and “After this mission is completed” both happen at the same time. Thusly, the active player has the first opportunity to trigger a Reaction to that timing point, followed by his or her opponent, etc.

--
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer
Fantasy Flight Games


#236
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3901 posts

Q:

If a unit with a shield token is discarded, can I focus an ET-74 Communications Droid to place the shield token on a different unit?

 

A:

Yes. When a unit leaves play, you discard all of its tokens and attached enhancements. Thus, you could use the ability on the ET-74 Communications Droid to move that shield to another unit when the original unit leaves play.


---
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer


#237
TheNameWasTaken

TheNameWasTaken

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 487 posts

It might have been perfectly clear to everyone else already, but I randomly remembered a question that was relevant to me several months ago and decided to get confirmation.

 

Rules Question:
For the card A Quick Hunt (222-6), what part of the ability is considered to be its effect? Is it just the "capture a target enemy unit committed to the Force" part, or is the entire text an effect that sets up some kind of delayed resolution? I'm asking because of its interaction with Hallucination (195-6) - does Hallucination immediately capture a committed LS unit upon Hallucination's resolution, or does it duplicate the delayed resolution part as well, requiring the DS player to win the edge battle by double the force icons to get that extra capture?

 

Answer:

Hi Karlis,

 
The ability on A Quick Hunt has two pieces: a conditional clause and the effect.
 
The conditional clause is “If this edge battle is contested and you win with at least double your opponent’s Force icon total,…”
 
The effect is: “…capture a target enemy unit committed to the Force.”
 

Hallucination resolves the effect of the chosen fate card (A Quick Hunt, in this case), so it would capture a target unit committed to the Force when you resolve Hallucination.


---
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer


#238
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3901 posts
Q:
Are the deck building requirements in th spoiled affiliation cards for the Alliances cycle meant to be exclusive? For example, does Desperate Allies mean that the objective deck must contain exactly 10 cards (5 Smuggler and 5 Jedi/Neutral) or at least 10 cards (5 Smuggler, 5 Jedi/Neutral, any number of Rebel)?

A:
“Exactly” means: no more, no less. So, your objective deck will have exactly 10 objectives in it, no more, no less. You cannot add any additional objectives beyond the amount listed on the card (so, 5 Smugler and 5 Jedi/Neutral, for example).

--
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer

#239
darthbs

darthbs

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1059 posts
Q:
I just wanted to confirm the interaction of the card Sabacc Shift with an in play Specter Unit and Objective The Last Warrior. Sabacc Shift Play only during your turn.

Action: Your opponent shuffles his hand back into his deck and draws X cards. X is the number of cards he shuffled into his deck.

Last Warrior While you control a Specter unit, opponents cannot draw cards through card effects.

I noticed it is not worded in and X to do Y format. Thus am I allowed to initiate the affect forcing my opponent to shuffle back his hand and not draw any cards?


A:
If the conditions for The Last Warrior are met (i.e. LS player controls a Specter unit), then the DS player cannot draw any cards as part of a card effect.

Sabacc Shift has two parts to its effect: discard and draw. So long as the DS player has 1 or more cards in hand, the DS player can successfully discard cards, so you can play Sabacc Shift (as at least 1 independent aspect of the effect can resolve, see FAQ 3.6). The DS player is then prevented from drawing cards due to the text on The Last Warrior, so they would end up with 0 cards in hand.

--
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer
  • Muddervader likes this

#240
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3901 posts
Regarding Ezra in several situations:
 
 
A:
Several cases here:
 
  • How does the Reaction on Ezra Bridger work if your opponent has no cards in hand or no participating units?
    • If an opponent has no participating units *and* no cards in hand, Ezra’s Reaction cannot be triggered, due to FAQ 3.6. This case is fairly straight forward
  • Obviously if an opponent has both participating units and 2+ cards in hand, they may make either choice.
  • If an opponent has no cards in hand, but controls participating units, they must choose an option that can change the game state, so they must choose to place 1 focus token on one of their participating units.
    • This covers the 2v2 situation as well. If you have no participating units, you must discard.
    • Conversely, if an opponent has no participating units but does have 2+ cards in hand, then they must choose the discard cards option for the same reason
  • If an opponent has exactly 1 card in hand, then discarding cards is a viable option
    • Cards can be discarded, so the game state will change (which passes the FAQ 3.6 check); and once that option is selected one resolves as much of the effect as possible (the same as how a “discard 2 cards” effect can resolve when someone has only a single card in hand).
--
Erik Dahlman
LCG Developer