Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Official Rule Clarifications !!Direct replies FFG only!!


  • Please log in to reply
254 replies to this topic

#41
FuzzyWookiee

FuzzyWookiee

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 129 posts
Last Defense of Hoth question:

Once you use the interrupt on the objective, you have to complete the interrupt or once I look at the card, if I choose not to use it as an edge card I don't have to? Thanks

JS

#42
Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Conquest Rules Arbitrator

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3289 posts

Last Defense of Hoth question:

Once you use the interrupt on the objective, you have to complete the interrupt or once I look at the card, if I choose not to use it as an edge card I don't have to? Thanks

JS


You can't stop mid action so yes you must complete the interrupt.

Also just a friendly FYI this thread is for official answers from FFG.

#43
Azgard12

Azgard12

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
EDIT: Trying to delete, did not realize this was for official until after I posted.

I have perhaps a silly one that I mainly need to clarify so a friend will trust my reading of the card.

When you discard a copy of Corrupt Official, do you have to pay his cost in order to use the ability that prevents damage against an objective?

#44
Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Conquest Rules Arbitrator

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3289 posts

EDIT: Trying to delete, did not realize this was for official until after I posted.

I have perhaps a silly one that I mainly need to clarify so a friend will trust my reading of the card.

When you discard a copy of Corrupt Official, do you have to pay his cost in order to use the ability that prevents damage against an objective?


No, you only pay the cost to play him.

#45
leizeQ

leizeQ

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
credits to hundreds for finding it on BGG (http://boardgamegeek...739302#12739302), karrde for asking Nate and to Toqtamish whose text I pasted here:

Rule Question:
Confronting the Terror:

If I use this Interrupt to redirect blast damage, does that damage have to be applied to DS objectives or may it be placed on units?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

He divides the damage among "any number of units and objectives he controls."

Nate French

#46
PBrennan

PBrennan

    Conquest Rules Arbitrator

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 874 posts
The rules say that the after all participating units are exhausted, the resolve strike step ends, but that's not quite true. The development team have confirmed that the rules flowchart is the accurate representation, which is important for effects like Cloud City Wing Guard and Chewbacca's Bowcaster. Namely:

When resolving strikes/ending an engagement, these steps apply:
1) (Framework) The player who won the edge battle resolves 1 strike, if able.
2) Player Action window
3) (Framework) The player who lost the edge battle resolves 1 strike, if able.
4) Player Action window
5) Check to: "Repeat if any participating units are still ready."
-If yes, return to step 1, above
-if no, proceed to step 6, below
6) (Framework) Check for surviving units and reward unopposed
7) (Framework) Engagement ends

So, regarding CCWG for instance, you would have to use it to strike any time it is your turn to do so during the steps labeled "1" or "3" above. If you get to step 5 and all the participating units are exhausted, you have no choice but to proceed to step 6, and lose out on the opportunity to strike with CCWG, or with Chewbacca with Chewbacca's Bowcaster attached for that matter.

#47
Bazeleel

Bazeleel

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1332 posts

The rules say that the after all participating units are exhausted, the resolve strike step ends, but that's not quite true. The development team have confirmed that the rules flowchart is the accurate representation, which is important for effects like Cloud City Wing Guard and Chewbacca's Bowcaster. Namely:

When resolving strikes/ending an engagement, these steps apply:
1) (Framework) The player who won the edge battle resolves 1 strike, if able.
2) Player Action window
3) (Framework) The player who lost the edge battle resolves 1 strike, if able.
4) Player Action window
5) Check to: "Repeat if any participating units are still ready."
-If yes, return to step 1, above
-if no, proceed to step 6, below
6) (Framework) Check for surviving units and reward unopposed
7) (Framework) Engagement ends

So, regarding CCWG for instance, you would have to use it to strike any time it is your turn to do so during the steps labeled "1" or "3" above. If you get to step 5 and all the participating units are exhausted, you have no choice but to proceed to step 6, and lose out on the opportunity to strike with CCWG, or with Chewbacca with Chewbacca's Bowcaster attached for that matter.


I think this is in place so that even if your guys get locked down you cant just do a bunch of free damage. Think about it. You have some cud out on the field don't place any edge cards and then go...damn I have no units to attack with...oh wait Ill just lay waste to everything now. I think that would make it unbalanced if you could do that.

#48
PBrennan

PBrennan

    Conquest Rules Arbitrator

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 874 posts
If Trandoshan Hunter wins the edge, does it deal 1 damage or 2 damage to a non-participating Wookiee unit?

Nate French : "2 damage, if it has the edge. The effect works like a limited form of targeted strike, that allows the scope of the strike to extend to Wookiees."
  • Toqtamish and Jefton22 like this

#49
Valiantman

Valiantman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Two questions: Can a player use the Millennium Falcon's action if they are unable to put a unit into play? And can I play Reversal of Fate without a card in my edge stack? Thank you.

#50
PBrennan

PBrennan

    Conquest Rules Arbitrator

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 874 posts
1. No - Because the effect is to put something into play; returning the Falcon to the hand is just the cost to do that.
2. No - Because there must be items on both sides of a switch for a switch to occur.

This thread is reserved for rules clarifications from FFG only btw. Future rules questions should be raised in new threads.

#51
Bazeleel

Bazeleel

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1332 posts

Two questions: Can a player use the Millennium Falcon's action if they are unable to put a unit into play? And can I play Reversal of Fate without a card in my edge stack? Thank you.

1. No - Because the effect is to put something into play; returning the Falcon to the hand is just the cost to do that.
2. No - Because there must be items on both sides of a switch for a switch to occur.

This thread is reserved for rules clarifications from FFG only btw. Future rules questions should be raised in new threads.


Number 1 is correct but number 2, you can most contently be played even if you have no edge cards in your stack. It does not say once both players have placed at least 1 card in their edge stack etc..... The only condition is BOTH PLAYERS, meaning you can not pass on defense, play RoF, and heat of battle their attacking unit.

The Card Reads
"When both players are done placing edge cards, and before edge stacks are revealed, switch edge stacks with your opponent for the resolution of this edge battle."

This means that you do have to HAVE a edge battle for the card to be played. If you do not defend then you are not participating in the edge battle. The triggering condition is once BOTH players have finished placing edges cards in their stacks can this card be played. So if you defend and they place a card and you can pass and play no cards. Then once both players have passed you can use RoF because both players are done placing cards into their stack.

Also please keep this thread for official rulings from Nate French.

#52
PBrennan

PBrennan

    Conquest Rules Arbitrator

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 874 posts
Bazeleel, I have confirmation from Nate on my answer. Both sides must have a card in their edge stack for a switch to be allowed, because the template definition of a switch is that there must be switchable items.
  • Tjglaser likes this

#53
Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Conquest Rules Arbitrator

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3289 posts
Reversal of Fate / Edge stack
In order to have edge stacks to switch, both players must have at least 1 card in the stack. In other words, if there are no cards in it, a player does not have an edge stack.
Source : Nate French

http://community.fan...versal-of-fate/

Exactly how I was going to use the card. You cannot swap something you don't have.

#54
Tjglaser

Tjglaser

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 124 posts

Bazeleel, I have confirmation from Nate on my answer. Both sides must have a card in their edge stack for a switch to be allowed, because the template definition of a switch is that there must be switchable items.


The new FAQ clarifies this as well. There has to be something on both sides for a 'switch' to occur.

#55
hundreds

hundreds

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 891 posts

Confirmation regarding Feeding the Pit from Nate at FFG:

---

Me: For Feeding the Pit, you can choose to discard the captured card (the cost), but if you can't heal the objective, you can't draw a card. You still, however, have succeeded in discarding that captured card (which is a rather nice way of putting valuable cards more out of reach of your opponent). Correct?

Nate: Correct. The cost is still paid (the captured card is discarded), but as there is no damage on the objective, nothing is healed. Since nothing is healed, the "then" effect following it does not resolve either.


---

 

Mod Edit: Ruling no longer applies after addition of section 3.6 to the FAQ.



#56
Vaapad

Vaapad

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 560 posts

i have no clue were to get a answer for this so ill just ask hear. Jawa scavenger its got a forced reaction after you lose an edge battle return this unit to your hand. my question is even if I have no participating units the attacker wins automatically so since I lose an edge battle is the forced reaction triggered? also if chewie is not in the engadgment and I use let the wookie win during an engagement placing a damg on chewie do I get to use his effect to deal double dmg to a participating unit?


Try starting a new thread to ask the question. This thread is reserved for posting questions asked to FFG and corresponding official answers by FFG employees.

#57
hundreds

hundreds

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 891 posts

1. No - Because the effect is to put something into play; returning the Falcon to the hand is just the cost to do that.


Patrick, I just got done emailing Nate about this issue - I hadn't seen it here before I contacted him. Anyway, here is the clarification regarding the Falcon:

---

ME: For the Falcon, you can choose to initiate the ability by paying the cost to return the Falcon to your hand. If you do not have the Character or Droid to put into play, do you put the Falcon back, or is it considered "stuck" in your hand?

NATE: The Falcon stays in your hand -- the cost is still paid in full, but since you have nothing to put into play the effect fails to resolve. There is nothing that puts the Falcon back into play.

ME: So I could choose to pull in my Falcon (say, that it is very low on health) using its ability, knowing full well that I have no Character or Droid to replace it with and simply tell my opponent that I am unable to resolve the effect. The net result is that the Falcon stays in my hand, free to play in a subsequent Deployment phase. Correct?

NATE: Correct. As it's a non-targeting effect, there is no restriction on being able to initiate it. So you can return it to your hand by using its effect, even if you have no Droid or Character. (If you do have a Droid or Character, you are obligated to put the card into play.)
  • orso, FATMUSICGUY and GroggyGolem like this

#58
PBrennan

PBrennan

    Conquest Rules Arbitrator

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 874 posts
Ahh, I missed the implication of the missing "target". Good catch!

#59
PBrennan

PBrennan

    Conquest Rules Arbitrator

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 874 posts
Q: If Chewbacca with Old Ben's Spirit attached is dealt damage, and discards OBS, what happens?

A: Response from the development team:
"Chewbacca can return the damage. This is the inverse of "Can Boba Fett capture someone that Old Ben's Spirit saved?" (the answer to which was "yes"). In both cases, the damage was dealt, otherwise there would have been no reason for the use of Old Ben's Spirit. (Just like Boba Fett's Reaction doesn't look for there being damage from his ability on the target, only that they took some from his strike)."

Me: I think this says we can rule in future that the difference between OBS and other cancellation effects is that it negates the result (leaving play) but doesn't negate how the result came about (damage dealt), whereas other cancellation effects cancel how the result came about (damage dealt) which means the result (leaving play) doesn't get to happen.

#60
PBrennan

PBrennan

    Conquest Rules Arbitrator

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 874 posts
Here's a followup ruling from the development team on Chewbacca + OBS receiving 4 damage say when it currently has no damage on it:

"Rulebook, page 21: "When a card has a number of damage tokens with value equal to or greater than its damage capacity, it is immediately destroyed. Damage in excess of its damage capacity is ignored." (Emphasis mine).

As such, 4 damage is incoming, Chewbacca "sees" taking 3 damage, Old Ben's Spirit activates, prevents him from being destroyed and removes all damage from him and then he can return twice what he took back at someone (for a total of 6)."

By extrapolation, if he already has 2 damage on him, and he receives 3 damage say, only one of those will be "seen" and he'll wing back 2 in return.
  • Tjglaser and knaacku like this