Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Official Rule Clarifications !!Direct replies FFG only!!
#121
Posted 07 May 2014 - 01:28 PM

#122
Posted 07 May 2014 - 02:25 PM

#123
Posted 08 May 2014 - 02:56 PM

#124
Posted 08 May 2014 - 06:02 PM

The creation of that lasting effect can be successful even if no Capital Ship is ever played to take advantage of it. So you may initiate the effect and not actually play a ship.
...would answer your question. "Even if no capital ship is ever played to take advantage of it" and "You may initiate the effect and not actually play a ship," these are the phrases you're looking for...
#125
Posted 15 May 2014 - 05:54 PM

Nate: "You cannot anticipate any change in the game state when you are checking play restrictions, including the 3.6 check. There must be an exhausted Character unit in play at the time of the check (and another Character unit to which the focus token can be moved), or Bamboozle could not be played."
So yeah, looks like legal targets must exist and already be in play when you check play restrictions at Step 1. Of course, if more legal targets appear by the time you get to step 4, then you have more legal targets to choose from.
#126
Posted 15 May 2014 - 06:08 PM

#127
Posted 22 May 2014 - 03:58 PM

Got some clarifications for the upcoming The Hoth Gambit set interacting with Echo Base from Sensors Are Placed:
Questions:
Answers:
1) Echo Base does *not* count for The Hoth Gambit. Echo Base says you are considered to control 1 additional Hoth objective, but that objective does not have a "damaged" or "undamaged" status. As such, it does not count for purposes of The Hoth Gambit objective.
3) As per the FAQ ruling for Spice Visions + Jabba the Hutt, yes, even if you Protect the damage to another destination, the damage was still dealt, so the cost was still paid. As long as a damage counter ends up on a card by a legal chain of events, the cost was paid.
- KennedyHawk likes this
#128
Posted 04 June 2014 - 05:45 AM

Got some clarifications for the upcoming The Hoth Gambit set interacting with Echo Base from Sensors Are Placed:
Questions:
1) Does Echo Base add an additional Force icon to your side when you have The Hoth Gambit in play?
Answers:
1) By the same token, I want to say it counts for "The Hoth Gambit" but the addition of "undamaged" makes me hesitant to provide a definitive answer. I'll get back to you on this one later.
Any update on this? Sorry if not yet - don't mean to pester.
#129
Posted 04 June 2014 - 04:39 PM

Any update on this? Sorry if not yet - don't mean to pester.
Updated my post above with the answer!
#130
Posted 04 June 2014 - 05:06 PM

#131
Posted 04 June 2014 - 05:37 PM

#132
Posted 04 June 2014 - 06:50 PM

Another stupid ruling
I'm not sure what they have against Rebels, but hey!
I think it is the correct interpretation, if you allowed it to be an 'undamaged objective' then I think you should allow the dark side to engage the phantom 4th objective. Just seems similar to the trench run, since there is not actually an objective there.
- Toqtamish and LethalHobo like this
#133
Posted 04 June 2014 - 07:50 PM

I asked followups to RedSquadronK's questions last week and received answers late Friday, but being on the road that weekend I was unable to post them. Two are reiterations from Nate (and are reflected above) and another confirms that The Hoth Gambit stacks.
Rule Question:I have a number of questions in regards to the new cards The Hoth Gambit (objective with text, "Each of your undamaged Hoth objectives contributes 1 Force icon to your side during the Force struggle.") and Snowspeeder Counterattack (event with text, "Action: Deal 1 damage to each of your Hoth objectives to deal X damage to a target enemy unit. X is the number of Hoth objective you control.").1) If you have two copies of The Hoth Gambit in play, do they stack (i.e. does each undamaged Hoth objective now provide 2 Force icons to the Force Stuggle)?2) If you have an undamaged The Hoth Gambit in play along with two other undamaged Hoth objectives (so total 3 undamaged Hoth objectives) along with an Echo Base (enhancement with text, "...You are considered to control 1 additional Hoth objective."), do you gain 3 Force icons towards the force struggle or 4?3) If you play Snowspeeder Counterattack while you have 3 Hoth objectives in play as well as an Echo Base, how much damage do you deal to the target enemy unit, 3 or 4 (i.e. what is X)?Thank you,~<redacted>
Hello,1) Yes, they do stack. Each Hoth Gambit is treated as a separate effect, so that any undamaged Hoth objective would contribute 1 Force icon for Hoth Gambit #1 and 1 Force icon for Hoth Gambit #2.2) As the “additional Hoth objective†is not defined as “damaged†or “undamaged,†it does not qualify for this interaction.3) X is the number of Hoth objectives you control, and Echo Base increases this number by 1, so X is 4 in this example.Nate FrenchSenior LCG DesignerFantasy Flight Gamesnfrench@fantasyflightgames.com
Edit: Corrections due to the new quote mechanics in the forums...
#134
Posted 04 June 2014 - 08:32 PM

#135
Posted 05 June 2014 - 07:02 PM

"The revealed card is still the top card of your deck while it is revealed. So the second Gamor Run will simply attempt to reveal it again, and you will be left with two effects telling you that the top revealed card counts its Force icons towards the Force struggle. The second effect is therefore redundant, as you only count icons once.
Note that this situation is slightly different than The Hoth Gambit situation, where the cards are contributing to your side, rather than counting their own icons."
So 2x Gamor Run does not stack.
#136
Posted 27 June 2014 - 06:05 AM

This one regarding the interaction between Deadly Sight and a unit enhanced with Old Ben's Spirit:
Nate: "Deadly Sight creates a constant check that will destroy the unit any time it has 0 Force icons. So, after Old Ben’s Spirit resolves, the unit would still be in a terminal condition, and it would immediately be destroyed again".
#137
Posted 09 July 2014 - 07:50 PM

A situation arises when Wittin and the Rancor are the only two non-vehicle units in play.
Turns out Wittin is more uber than he seems, he can block higher costed units from being nom nom nomed.
"Wittin cannot be chosen (as he cannot be destroyed).
If there is another eligible unit at the same cost as Wittin, it must be chosen.
Higher cost units, however, do not qualify as “the lowest cost non-Vehicle unit in play.†(As Wittin has a lower cost than them.) So if Wittin is the only 3 cost unit around, it will protect the higher costed units from being destroyed."

- Demas likes this
#138
Posted 04 August 2014 - 01:19 AM

Question: If Rebel Leia is on the board and you use H&L Objective's action, assuming all other costs and conditions are met, is Rebel Leia captured and her interrupt resolves, or does the effect fully resolve and Rebel Leia swaps out like any other eligible unit?
I've gotten two conflicting answers from very experienced players.
#139
Posted 04 August 2014 - 11:27 PM

Question: If Rebel Leia is on the board and you use H&L Objective's action, assuming all other costs and conditions are met, is Rebel Leia captured and her interrupt resolves, or does the effect fully resolve and Rebel Leia swaps out like any other eligible unit?
I've gotten two conflicting answers from very experienced players.
Please refrain from asking questions in this thread, as this thread is only for posting official answers to rules questions given by FFG.
If you like, you can start a new thread in the main rules section and you'll get answers.
#140
Posted 06 August 2014 - 09:38 PM

Can I generate the 2 ressources of the Apology Accepted event card to play the card with an Officer (like a Duty Officer) and then sacrifice this Officer to pay the additionnal cost of the Event?
Nate answer :
All costs are paid at the same time, so you may use the Duty Officers to pay the resource cost and to fulfill the sacrifice.