Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Official Rule Clarifications !!Direct replies FFG only!!


  • Please log in to reply
254 replies to this topic

#141
hundreds

hundreds

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 891 posts

Question:

 

Can you use Chain Reaction to copy the effect of Darth Vader's reaction (from the core set), even though Darth Vader's reaction is a limit once per turn?

 

Answer:

 

The limit applies only to how often you can trigger Vader’s ability from Vader himself. Using another source to copy the effect does not count against the limit.


#142
hundreds

hundreds

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 891 posts

Question:

 

There was another question that someone else said that they were going to ask you, but I don't think he ever posted a response...
 
Since IG-88's pod allows you to capture Force Cards, some people seem to think that the location of the captured Force Card needs to be kept a secret by means of some sort of card-sleeving or it was even suggested that you swap out the captured Force Card with some placement card from the box. This was so that if the card were moved from its original location by means of effects like Carbonite Transport or something, that now the LS player would not know if the Force Card was moved. So, my question is:
 
Is it really necessary to find the identity of captured Force Cards. In fact, is it bordering on cheating by doing that, since the Force Cards themselves are not printed with standard card backs and thus cannot be concealed?
 

Nate's answer:

 

There is nothing in the effect that hides the identity of the captured Force card, and as these cards have different backs their whereabouts may be tracked. 
 
Note that if you are instructed to choose or rescue a captured card “at random,” the standard method of shuffling the cards face down would not work, and another means of randomization (or replacing the card with a temporary stand in) would be necessary.


#143
hundreds

hundreds

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 891 posts

So I got a response back from Nate as a follow up regarding captured Force cards that I think will help set the precedent for any kind of crazy situations.

 

...

 

My Question:

 

What about when such a Force Card is rescued, or as the Zygerrian Slaver where it says to return a captured card to an opponent's hand. Since Force Cards don't go back to their hand, is it still legal to use the Zygerrian Slaver like that? And when a card is simply "rescued", does the rules mandate that the rescued card MUST go to the opponent's hand, so simply the obvious spot where it should go, as in the case of the Force Cards to the Force Card reserve pile?
 
Nate's Response:
 
If a Force card is rescued, it is returned to its owner’s pool of available Force cards.
 
My Follow-up Question:
 
Would a Force card be a valid choice for the Zygerrian (even though the card says to return the captured card to the opponent's hand)?
 
His Follow-up Response:
 
Yes. The cost is still paid, the Force card just ends up in a different out of play area. This is similar to using Spice Visions to replace a focus token that is paying a cost with a damage token. (See FAQ, page 11, bottom of column 1.)
 
...
 
So there ya go.

  • chunkygorillas likes this

#144
doctormungmung

doctormungmung

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 861 posts

I asked the following of Nate French:

 

For the card Chain Reaction from the new Scum set, The Slimiest Scheme, how does it interaction with Chewbacca's reaction?  (pardon the typo)

 

Answer:

 

Chain Reaction can copy Chewbacca’s effect. “Twice that much damage” will be the same amount of damage that was dealt by the original effect that is being resolved again. 
 
Nate French
Senior LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games


#145
KennedyHawk

KennedyHawk

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1890 posts

Question:

Piett is on the board and your opponent puts a non-twist fate card in the edge battle. You switch edge stacks using Reversal of Fate.

A: Do the fate cards on Piett get resolved and counted in your opponents edge stack?
B: When you discard edge stacks since you have swapped with your opponent does the fate card your opponent played now get added to Piett's pile of fate cards?

 

 
Nate's Response:
A: Fate cards on Piett will still contribute to your stack after the switch, as his is a constant ability that is always on. (In other words, the cards on Piett will not count for your opponent, unless he somehow takes control of Piett.)
B: When you discard swapped edge cards from a “switched” stack, the Reaction ability for Piett may still be triggered: you have discarded a Fate card not name Twist of Fate from your edge stack, and you may now attach the card to Piett.
cleardot.gif


#146
orso

orso

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 208 posts

Question:

 

the unit Believer Initiate reads: Sacrifice this unit if the Balance of the Force is with the light side.
Does it mean if the Balance of the Force is with the light side I can't really play it? Because it would be sacrificed before it could do anything in play?
Or is it sacrificed at the end of the Force phase if the Force is with the light side?

 

Answer:

If the balance of the Force is with the Light Side and you play tithe Believer Initiate, you must sacrifice it immediately.
 



#147
pixcalcis

pixcalcis

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

 How does the enhancement hate interact with Rebel Leia leaving play?

 Does it follow her up until her destination (hand/discard pile/ area to be captured, etc) blanking her card text and not allowing it to go off?

Or, as soon as she would begin to leave play, the enhancement is removed and her passive text and interrupt then are able to take effect?

Answer:

Hate and Leia leave play at the same time.

Leia is considered blank at the time she leaves play, so neither the passive nor the interrupt take effect.

 


  • chunkygorillas, GroggyGolem and Lertush like this

#148
Majestaat

Majestaat

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1913 posts

Question regarding Between the Shadows Obi-Wan when enhanced with Old Ben's Spirit (i.e Obi is destroyed. Can you use his interrupt to destroy an enemy unit and keep Obi alive anyway thanks to OBS?).

 

Nate's answer:

“Would be destroyed” interrupts have priority over “is destroyed” interrupts. In other words, “the would be destroyed” timing of Old Ben’s Spirit happens before the “is destroyed” timing of Obi Wan. So that, if you use Old Ben’s Spirit to prevent him from being destroyed, you never get to the point where the “is destroyed” trigger occurs.



#149
michaelkaibecca

michaelkaibecca

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Question:

 

Do I focus units to strike in an engagement where there is nothing for them to strike at (Stormtrooper elite has 3 unit damage with no units to fire at)?



#150
GroggyGolem

GroggyGolem

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 439 posts

Question:

 

Do I focus units to strike in an engagement where there is nothing for them to strike at (Stormtrooper elite has 3 unit damage with no units to fire at)?

Just to let you know, this thread is not meant for people's questions to be posted and answered but for official clarifications from the designers in which we have sent in questions to them and gotten a response. That is why you will see someone post a question they had along with an answer from Nate French, the Senior LCG Designer at Fantasy Flight Games.



#151
doctormungmung

doctormungmung

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 861 posts

Rule Question:
As the dark side, I have Zekka Thyne, General Tagge, and some random assortment of trooper units. Zekka Thyne is destroyed. What happens to the trooper units?

Thanks.

 

------------------------------

 

Zekka’s Forced Interrupt had priority, and creates an effect that attempts to destroy everyone.

 
Tagge’s ability interrupts the resolution of Zekka’s effect, and may be used to return any eligible units to their owner's hand.
 
Zekka's effect then completes its resolution, and all remaining units are destroyed.
 
Nate French
Senior LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games

  • yodaman, chunkygorillas and GroggyGolem like this

#152
Caal

Caal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 608 posts
Question :
Can I use Entangled to draw 1 card if there is no other eligible unit to be chosen to strike?

Answer (Thanks to PBrennan for sharing) :
No

The "if able" applies to the opponent. This card was originally designed before the 3.6 ruling in the FAQ, so the "if able" clause was important to make sure to answer the question of "can this card be played if my opponent only has a single eligible unit?" The answer then was "yes," but you didn't get the card draw because the preceding effect did not resolve successfully (i.e. a different unit wasn't chosen, so it wasn't successful, so you didn't satisfy the necessary component of the "then" clause to draw the card).

Now, after the 3.6 FAQ ruling, you can't play the card at all if your opponent only has a single eligible unit able to strike. You can't change the game state as no independent aspect of the card can resolve. The "then" clause is tied to the successful resolution of the "choose a different eligible unit to strike" which your opponent is unable to do.

Any part of a card's ability that relies on a "then" clause to initiate relies on the preceding effect to resolve successfully. As such, you cannot consider effects that are part of "then" clauses for the purposes of determining if you can initiate a card ability because of entry 3.6 in the FAQ. The potential of a "then" clause to change the game state is entirely dependent on the successful resolution of a preceding effect. It has no independent potential to change the game state.

#153
Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Conquest Rules Arbitrator

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3289 posts

Question:

 

If Knobby White Spider is given a Force commitment card and then goes back to being an enhancement what happens to the Force card ? 
 
Answer: 
 
Yes, it should be removed once it becomes an enhancement again.
--
Erik Dahlman
Associate LCG Designer


#154
Caal

Caal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 608 posts
Rule Question:

Does Adaptive Strategy wording "as if that card were in your edge stack" implies that you need to have one, and that you cannot play it when resolving a fate card played with Commando Raid outside if an engagement?

FFG Answer :

Correct — you cannot resolve a Fate card “as if it were in your edge stack” unless you are currently resolving Edge stacks.

Nate French
Senior LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games

#155
CataractCowboy

CataractCowboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 302 posts

Scenario

Xizor defending for DS, LS sacrifices jubba bird specifying tactics icons

May the DS player play Armed to the teeth changing all remaining non-tactics icons to black guns?

 

Would the situation be the same if the jubba bird had specified guns?

 

Does armed to the teeth count as "gaining" icons which jubba bird uses the absolute "cannot" gain icons, or is it merely changing existing icons. 

 

ANSWER FROM NATE FRENCH 

1) An icon changing from one type to another is not considered a gain, so this would not be prevented by the Jubba Bird if “guns” was not the original icon chosen.

 
2) “Loses all” applies a “- infinite” modifier to the chosen icon type until the end of the phase. So, if the Jubba Bird chooses “guns," and other icon types are then changed into guns, they would be zero’ed out by the re-calculation of this modifier.
 

Nate French
Senior LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games


#156
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3930 posts

Question:

How exactly does section 2.12 of the FAQ interact with Virago? Specifically, if a card is gaining multiple instances of a keyword, does Virago only steal one of those instances, leaving the original card still with the keyword, or does 2.12 effectively mean that multiple instances of the keyword are just one instance, allowing Virago to steal all of the instances at once?

 

Answer:

Virago steals one instance of the keyword, and invokes section 2.10, which requires a re-calculation of the value of how many instances of that keyword the card has, taking into account the base value (whether or not the card has the printed keyword) plus or minus all active modifiers. (Virago is essentially -1 instance.)
 
2.12 specifies that a card functions as if it has a single instance of that keyword if after all modifiers are taken into account it would have more than one instance of a keyword. This does not mean that it is only treated as having one instance of the keyword if a new modifier (like Virago) enters the equation and the number of instances needs to be recalculated.

Nate French
Senior LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games

 

Follow up question:

How does that interact with Edge?  Using the example in the FAQ, could Virago steal Edge (3), or would it have to choose between stealing edge (2) or edge (1)?

 

Answer:

"Edge (2)" and "Edge (1)" are the keywords the card has, so Virago could choose either of those to steal.

 
2.12 said the card functions as if it has "Edge (3)," but it doesn't actually have that keyword, so "Edge (3)" is not an option that can be stolen.
 
Nate French
Senior LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games


#157
Caal

Caal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 608 posts

Regarding the use of Hero's Trial to play a unit as enhancement (Resolve's Luke, Wedge, Black Squadron Pilot, Pilot (x) units)

A Hero’s Trial only interacts with enhancement cards in your hand. Cards with the pilot keyword may enter play as enhancements, but while they are in your hand they are still unit cards. As A Hero’s Trial does not give you permission to to play units, such pilot cards never reach the “enters play” moment where they become eligible to enter play as enhancements.

Nate French
Senior LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games

 

Mod Edit:

This ruling has been reversed, A Hero's Trial can be used to play Pilot (x) units as enhancements.  Still waiting on official clarification on interaction with Luke/Wedge.



#158
hundreds

hundreds

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 891 posts

1. Can Wedge Antilles be played onto a capitol ship, such as Home One, using the new fate card Stay on Target?

 

2. Assuming he can, would he retain his game text, allowing Home One to strike twice? Basically, does he have to be played in the traditional sense and only onto a fighter or speeder in order to receive the text that allows him to let his enhanced vehicle strike twice?

 

3. Why, or why not? So that we can apply the same idea to Hoth Luke... Thanks! 

 

 

FFG answer:

 

1. Stay on Target could place Wedge onto a Capital Ship

2. However, Wedge’s game text only works on Fighters or Speeders. (And an upcoming errata to the ability is necessary for it to work with Stay on Target at all). So, you could not strike twice with Home One with an attached Wedge.

3. Same reasoning would apply to Luke from the Hoth cycle; even if you can attach him through a card effect to a Capital Ship, his game text only affects Fighters and Speeders, so it would not be applicable when attached to any other type of Vehicle.

 

--

Erik Dahlman
Associate LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games



#159
Jackofhearts

Jackofhearts

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 378 posts
Rules Question:
What happens when control changes mid engagement? For example, lets say your Niles Ferrier has viciously stolen my Moldy Crow. I declare defenders and, after the edge battle, I choose this moment to Yub Yub away Ferrier. What happens to the Crow? The relevant texts: Niles Ferrier: Pilot (3) (You May Play this card as a pilot enhancement on an unpiloted enemy Fighter or Transport unit. Take Control of enhanced unit while piloted by this card.) Yub Yub: Action: Focus an Ewok unit to discard a target enhancement from play.

Response:

Units are declared as a participating unit on their controller’s side of an engagement. Generally, if a participating unit changes control during an engagement, it is removed from the engagement. However, specific wording on a card may allow a unit to remain participating on the new controller's side of an engagement during a control change (currently, no such card exists).

I will make a note to add this clarification to the next iteration of the FAQ.

--
Erik Dahlman
Associate LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games
  • mischraum and pantsyg like this

#160
chiller087

chiller087

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 836 posts

Question #1: When a unit with the Pilot keyword is played as an enhancement, at which point during the 6-step process of playing an action does the Pilot switch from a unit to an enhancement? Will IN YOU MUST GO reduce its cost if played as an enhacenment?

 

ANSWER:

For a card with the pilot (x) keyword you may play the card in one of two ways: either by paying the printed cost in the upper left corner, or by paying the pilot cost, X (whatever X is).
 
In step 2 of Effect Resolution, you determine the cost of the card. This would be when you decide if you are paying the printed cost (and deploying a unit) or the pilot cost (and deploying an enhancement). (From the Rogue Squadron rules sheet: “In order to play a card with the pilot (X) keyword from hand as a Pilot enhancement, a player must pay the resource cost of X instead of the normal printed cost. X is known as the “pilot cost” of the enhancement.)
 
Step 3 is when you apply any modifiers to the cost. Reductions from cards such as “In You Must Go” only apply to paying the deployment cost (upper left corner), as it does not refer to the “pilot cost,” only the cost (which are different). As you are not paying that cost when playing a Pilot card as an enhancement (you’re paying the pilot cost instead), In You Must Go won’t give you a discount.
 
However, enhancements such as “Pilot Ready Room” (0701) reduce *both* the cost and the pilot cost of a Pilot card, so this modifier is applied in Step 3 no matter which cost you’re paying when playing the Pilot card from your hand.
 
Mod Edit:
This ruling has been changed.  You determine unit vs enhancement at the initiation of playing the Pilot card, before even step 1.  This has the benefit of allowing Pilots to be played with A Hero's Trial or when Hidden from the Empire is on table.  In You Must Go still does not reduce their cost because it does not affect pilot cost.