Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
St. Hubert’s Key
Submitted
Guest
, -- | Last updated --
![]() St. Hubert’s KeyType: Support Faction: The Agency Cost: 2 Game Text: Item. Disrupt: Exhaust St. Hubert’s Key to cancel an effect that would either drive a character you control insane or wound a character you control. Set: For the Greater Good Number: 24 Illustrator: |
Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.
10 Comments
Khopesh ruining your day? Then St. Hubert's Key is for you! Just don't forget the errata to Khopesh so they still wound as a cost!
Price to pay and this, do i get to hit the opponent with either wound or insanity and disrupt the effect on my own guy to have a one sided effect?
I think only the wound, because it's a "then" statement. So if insanity doesn't happen it can't continue. Even better though it just says effect, not triggered effect. Meaning game effects should be fair game.
It says disrupt and effect that would drive a character insane or wound, cant i choose my guy to either be turned insane or take wound and use st huberts key to stop either effect from happening to my guy? the targets are still valid from what i understand.
Small Price to Pay:
Action: Choose a character you control and a character an opponent controls. Choose one of those characters to go insane, then wound the other character.
From the FAQ:
If a card uses the word “then,†then
the preceding effect must have been
resolved successfully before the
subsequent dependent effect can be
resolved.
So if you negate the insanity the wound won't happen because of the then statement. It didn't resolve successfully. I'm pretty sure this is correct. Actually thinking about it maybe the choosing is the effect and they don't have to actually go insane, just be chosen to go insane? Not sure anymore.
You are right ssjevot, if the part of the sentence before the "then" is not satisfied completely the part after the "then" does not happen.
Right, but the issue I'm having is if the choosing is the part that needs satisfying or the actual insanity. Because if it's just choosing then it is satisfied in his scenario. A character was chosen to go insane, it was just that the insanity itself was negated. So, I'm really not sure what would happen.
I think the first sentence messes up with your thoughts here. Just concentrate on the 2nd one: "Choose one of those characters to go insane". The first sentence just lays the ground rule that the targets must be one from your side and the other from opponents. So insanity must happen for the wounding to take effect.
Both the targeting must be valid (in this example choosing 1 character you control and 1 your opponent controls) and the application of the effects in the order defined (1st a character must go insane and IF that happens, then the wounding).