Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * - -

Danny O'Bannion's Crony

Danny O'Bannion's Crony

Danny O'Bannion's Crony

Type: Character Faction: Syndicate
Cost: 2 Skill: 2 Icons: (C)
Game Text:
Action: Exhaust Danny O'Bannion's Crony to choose and ready a Criminal character other than Danny O'Bannion's Crony. Until the end of the phase, that character gains (C) (I).
Set: SoM
Number: 5
Illustrator: Anders Finer


Is the Crony able to ready other Cronies, just not himself?

    • RichardPlunkett likes this

No.  Other cronies are also "Danny O'Bannion's Crony" and therefore can't be readied.

Nov 02 2016 05:04 AM

From the FAQ: A card that is self-referential (that is, has card text that refers to itself by Title) refers only to itself, and not to any other copies of that card.


As such the text "character other than Danny O'Bannion's Crony" actually means "character other than <this card>", and does not speak to other cards with the same name.


So, if you had two of these in play, you could definitely exhaust one to ready/pump the other. Then exhaust it to ready/pump the first one, then back and forth to infinity.


I do quite like having infinite © and (I) icons.


PS in hindsight this card perhaps wants errata/rulings to get the result tnordine offered, but until then have at it!

    • tdnordine and Track8 like this



Thanks for the correction.  I had mis-remembered the details of that FAQ entry, and tried to use common sense....I should know better.  :)


Yes, having infinite combat and Investigation is kinda cool, and makes the crony a good card.  I would expect any errata would have made him unique which would bring him in line with how I expected him to work.

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.